Dryer Sheet Collage Art Cloth – Tutorial

Standard

Hey Bloggerdoodles…

I finally finished up my dryer sheet collage art cloth for you.

This process is so fun at at the same time, you are recycling your dryer sheets.  I hope you like it.

What you need: used dryer sheet, white glue, water, freezer paper, masking tape, brush for glue, paints and inks,  scrap papers, fabrics, ribbon, glitter…. just any kind of ephemera to make your layers and what makes you happy.

Tape a sheet of freezer paper, shiny side up to a piece of card board (taping it down to your work surface is fine, but if you use a piece of cardboard you can move it while it dries).

Mix glue and water in a separate container using a 1:1 ratio.  I play with it until it’s a syrup consistency.   Lay down the dryer sheet and pour the glue on the sheet and start to spread it until it’s all covered.

Here we go…. Let”s have some fun, shall we?

Now, you can start with anything you want, but here is what I did….

I started  laying and gluing down decorative napkins, tissues papers, fabric, ribbon and thin papers.  Don’t hesitate to use too much glue.. this will all dry clear and give the cloth strength.  Keep in mind, you are working on a very thin, transparent substrate; it’s needs the layers you’ll be adding to it.

Then I dripped alcohol inks all over.  You can use glitter spray too or acrylic paints to make your own free form designs.

It’s getting there.  Just keep adding, layers until  you are satisfied.  Press down the glued pieces, making sure they come in good contact with the layer below it.

Here’s what it looks like when I’ve completed piece.  I added glitter and gold ribbon.   I am a gold-aholic.. I admit it.  Nothing seems done until I add some glitter and glam to it.  Tip:  Go to the hardware store and buy a small bucket of ceiling glitter; it comes in gold and silver.

Once your done, put this aside and let it dry several hours.. even 24.

Peel it off of your freezer paper and now, you’ve created a one of a kind, all your own design, collage art cloth.  For some last minute, I think it needed something else, addition, I used rubber stamps on it once it was dry.

Oooooooooooo….. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.. lookie here…..

It is completely flexible.  You can cut it to you own shapes to add to your canvas art, journals, snip pieces to make greeting card designs.. it’s your world… go for it..

Click on each picture for a closer look.


Take a look at the back of the cloth… pretty cool too.

Thanks for joining me and stopping by.  I do hope you enjoyed this tute.

Judy

Next up:   ATC workshop and renewing friendships.

17 responses »

  1. Judy, once again you amaze me and your tutorials that you do for us are just simply amazing! So detailed and the photos are awesome. What a wonderful idea…and I know that I have plenty of of these dryer sheets …the laundry never stops here in my house! LOL Thanks again for sharing your creative ideas with all of us…I’m always so inspired by you. I hope you and your family have a wonderful and safe holiday weekend!
    Cheers my friend!

  2. Hi Judy, Thanks for another wonderful tutorial. I think it’s awesome that you’re recycling an everyday household object and turning it into a beautiful work of art. Your art cloth is so gorgeous and colorful. You’ve inspired me to gather my art supplies and play! So, what do you do with it when you’re done? LOL, only kidding ;-D

  3. Pingback: Art Journals | Out of a Great Need

  4. I’m more than four years late to the dryer sheet party, the world of art journaling has recently began pulling me down its path and I am super excited about all of the mixed media, upcycle, recycle potential that awaits me!! woohooo! going to try a faux leather finish on this and then depending on flexability it may end up no where near an art journal, then again i may have to experiment and make several for an array of applications! Merry Christmas to you and yours, thank you for sharing you knowledge and experience with a newbie!

  5. Judy! So cool-must try. I volunteer and do art at my grandsons school. Where do you buy freezer paper from? I must get some!
    Lori

Let me know what you think about this post.