Journal Disaster Recovery

Standard

I am a novice at making art journals. I only know the basic stitch to bind pages and that’s all I really need. But, oh boy, this one made me mad and sad.  I don’t have all the pictures, because I was having a pity party for myself once the disaster struck.  I’ll try to describe it as best I can.  All I can say is BIG lesson learned.

Some of my Facebook friends may remember this 11×14 page I decorated using black gesso, then white acrylic paint through a stencil, then watercolors. I doodled around the flowers with a white Uni-ball Signo pen.  I just loved this and I wanted to do something with it.

IMG_4899

It hung out a while until I decided to make a journal out of it using manila folders as my filler paper. Great.. fun… can’t wait.

So, I cut my manila folders down to size and poked my holes with an awl. Used binding tape for the binder, then sewed my signatures in.  Loved it. Yay. Happy.

IMG_4900 IMG_4901 IMG_4902

IMG_4904 IMG_4905 IMG_4906 IMG_4907

Ok.. looks good, right.  Well, now I wanted to seal it.  Here it comes. AND I don’t have pictures.  I start to brush on some medium. I can’t recall if it i was Golden polymer medium or Collage Pauge or even self-leveling gel, but as I brushed it on I didn’t even think anything was wrong.  I thought the white streaks were the medium and I told myself it would dry clear. NOPE NOPE NOPE.  It was the white pen ink streaking.

Imagine something like this, below, but all over my flowers.

paint streaks

I was heart broken. I thought maybe if I gently rubbed, I could save it.  No can do people. It was ruined.  Especially after rubbing it.  So I continued to rub it all off.  It was so sad.. after trying CPR and first aid, it was too late.

OK.. let’s get to happier times now….

Sooooooo.. the obvious thing to do was cover it up.  I found some art papers from my weekend class with Jane Davies a year ago called “Big Fat Art”.   I cut them to size, glued on my new covers, added some texture and here it is.

IMG_4921  IMG_4922

Yes, I love it.  Big and bold.  I have fond memories of my flower cover, but the show must go on, right? If I were to do it again, I would have sprayed a finish on it.

Well, thanks for listening to my saga. I hope you enjoyed it and learned from it, too.

As always, I love hearing from you and thank you for your tremendous support of my art adventures.

Judy  ♥ ♥ 

12 responses »

  1. I’m so sorry for you! I have done the exact same thing once or even twice. At least you took a lot of photos of the project before it got destroyed, that way it will live on. I did that once to a master board sheet that had Zentangle designs all over it, one of a kind piece of paper. I screamed “no, no, no” as I watched my beautiful paper disappear before my very eyes. Hugs.

  2. Your flowers were wonderful, so sorry that the urgh white pen ran. Love the other cover though too. Now that you’ve done such a terrific doodle, you’ll just do another. Nice work my friend. xox

  3. Thanks for the lesson. I have that pen and will be careful where I use it in the future. As great as your first cover was, the second one is just as wonderful!

  4. Oh boy what a terrible thing to happen! Love the new covers but I would have cried first.

  5. I can hear the monitors now as you gave it CPR…it was such a beautiful flower cover that you had…but how you gave it a second chance – a new life with a Jane Davies painted paper cover is fabulous too!

  6. Your journal started out beautiful and ended up beautiful! What was in between may be a bit of a downer, but you survived! It’s actually kind of nice that you used papers from you class for this journal because it is not only great art, it carries memories of Jane and Jessica…and, of course, a “pre-class” dinner with Jessica, Corrine and Kay! Perfect in my book!

  7. Oh Judy!! So sorry for the loss of your beautiful journal cover “(
    The bright side here is that now you have an even more beautiful journal cover!! There is always sunshine just outside the door!! hugs my friend! xo

  8. Oh, honey! I am so sorry that happened to you, but you sure took that in stride and created one beautiful piece anyway. Way to work through it and not quit. This is lovely.

Let me know what you think about this post.

