Faux or No Batik?

Standard

Recently, my friend, Jessica, did a post about how she was feeling in one word…she chose the word “glum”. I loved how she turned her feelings around; read about it HERE.

If I were to think of a word for me, I would sum it up to be “blah”.  After dealing with a sinus infection for over a week then to get a flare up of tendonitis in my right arm  because of work and being on the computer for hours on end, well, that is how I feel.  Enough.  I have work to do and a blog to write.  I’ve switched my mouse hand to the left and that is quite a challenge.  So, I’m trying to kick back on the typing until things are a bit calmer.  Ok, that was my 5 minutes of whining.  Thanks for listening.  But, before I go, let me show you some fun art play I’ve managed to sneak in.

Recently, I came across 3 heavy book boards measuring about 4×6 inches.  Holes were already in them to prepare for binding.  I bought this long ago, so I don’t know where it came from. Sorry.

Loving the Dylusions ink sprays, I decided to use them on the boards, on each side.  Man, I love they way they settle on to their new surface.

      

  

Purdy, huh?  The teal background behind the boards is tissue paper that I spread gel medium on, let dry then stenciled with white acrylic paint. FUN!

Because the Dylusions are water soluble, they bleed when you put acrylic paint on them.  Even if I use PYM, they still bleed, which baffled me. I thought it would seal the ink.  But, it did not.  If anyone knows how to seal the ink, let me know.

Once the ink was dry, I stenciled on top of them with white acrylic paint.  The paint was a fainter color because the white took on a little of the color beneath it.  It reminded me of Batik.

What do you think?  I’m loving this effect.

  

I used a make up sponge to pounce the paint through the stencil.

  

  

When I’m done putting this little book together, I’ll be back to show you the end result.

I hope you all have a great rest of week.

.. and as always, thanks for stopping by.

Judy 

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

15 responses »

  1. Thank you so much for the shout out. I sincerely hope that making such beautiful art turned your “blah” to “bright” because that’s the word I think of when I look at your boards. They are GORGEOUSLY fresh and light. Love, love, love them and the way you created the look of a resist with the stencils by using the white paint. They DO look like batik. I absolutely can’t wait to see what you do next. Feel better, and let me know how it goes switching hands – maybe you’ll become ambidextrous!

  2. I really like the great color that the Dylusions ink give but, I don’t like that they run and are not permanment. I have searched the internet and have found nothing that will seal the ink so you can use a wet process over it. If you find a way to seal it, let us know. I only have a few bottles and have not bought more because of the running issue.
    I like what you have done with the inks but, I want to be able to seal it since I use so much paper.
    Barb

  3. Those are GORGEOUS! Did you gesso the boards before spraying them with the Dylusions? That may have affected the sealing quality of the PYM.

    Thanks again for lighting the candle for Daddy.

    Love and hugs,
    Raine

    Sent from my iPad

  4. Oh do I ever love those colors – just beautiful. Can’t blame you for the blah’s & whining is totally appropriate. I’ll tell ya, whatever’s been going around has been nasty & it just hangs on forever. Left handed on the mouse? I don’t think I could even do that, you are good.

  5. Sorry to hear snot has been invading- those sinus infections are exhausting! I have to say you have impeccable taste in stencils. Why would I say that? Because I own some of the same ones! Your colors here are just pure eye candy- so happy!! Love what the white on it does!

  6. Oh my goodness, Judy, those are GORGEOUS! I love everything about your pages and can’t wait to see what you do with them. Hope all of that creativity and color helped you to feel better! Question: do those spray inks work on fabric?

  7. I love the effect you got with the white over those wonderful backgrounds. (and nope, haven’t found a solution for the runny inks either)

  8. HI,
    Don’t move to FL- I have sinus problems year round. I use a Neti Pot (Wal-greens; Wal-mart) for my nose. Gross,I know, but it works!
    For sealing paints that drip & mix I’ve used “DecoArt” spray.The label says :”Triple thick Brilliant Gloss Glaze” it’s in a blue can, 6 oz.at Michaels. One page took a lot of the spray.

  9. So pretty. Your technique is really cool. I love how you can take materials from around the house and turn them into art. It is not only creative but very green. As always, great to be inspired by you!

Let me know what you think about this post.