Getting Ready for Art is ME….

Standard

I wanted to get this post in before I head off to Stamford, CT for the amazing Art is You retreat.  Yes, I managed to make some swaps to share with lovely people.  Last year, I used Tyvek (check out my video), this year, it’s raw canvas.

I used raw canvas to make mixed media book marks.  The layers on this are probably about 15 or so. It started out so differently than I planned, but that’s what art is… no thinking.. start and see what happens.

I gessoed the canvas; let dry.  Started adding layers of Golden fluid acrylics after I spritzed some water. Just brushing around with a large brush. Let dry in between each wet layer that you do.

Click on picture for details.

IMG_4746  IMG_4748IMG_4753IMG_4749IMG_4750IMG_4755IMG_4756 IMG_4757

Then, I stamped on some dress pattern paper and collaged that on with decorative napkins using Collage Pauge.

IMG_4758 IMG_4759IMG_4760IMG_4761IMG_4763IMG_4764IMG_4765IMG_4766IMG_4768 IMG_4767

Teal paint in between collage. White paint marks with plastic cover and bubble wrap and adding stencil coloring.

IMG_4771 IMG_4774 IMG_4775 IMG_4776 IMG_4777 IMG_4778 IMG_4779

Pushing light molding paste through stencils… LOVE.

IMG_4780 IMG_4788 IMG_4787 IMG_4785 IMG_4781IMG_4784

Adding gold modeling cream and Posca markers for mark making.  That is what finalized it for me, all the scribbles from the markers.  All the beginning layers are buried in there deep.

IMG_4791 IMG_4794IMG_4796 IMG_4795

Then cutting up the canvas to make the bookmarks, changed it all.  Each little marker was a piece of it’s own art.  This is “The Key to my Art”.

IMG_4797IMG_4798  IMG_4800 IMG_4799

My business cards are dangling from the top.

IMG_4801

I hope you enjoyed that little ditty. It sure was fun to create these for many creative people.

I’ll be taking pictures and posting when I return. I hope I am lucky that some of you will be there again and I can’t wait to meet some new friends, too.

Thanks for stopping by and your support… always.

Judy  ♥

 

14 responses »

  1. What lovely gifts! I’m sure they will be treasured. Have a wonderful time, I can’t wait to see your photos!! Hugs ~ Renee

  2. Way cool Judy, tx for sharing and inspiring! It seems like a lot of work but the end result was awesome! Aloha, angi in hana

  3. I love those bookmarks!!! Anyone who gets one will be a lucky ducky! Have a great time and don’t forget to take plenty of photos.

  4. Wow, your bookmarks are beyond fabulous, Judy! I’m sure your art friends will treasure them. Have a wonderful time at Art is You! Luv ya, Karen

  5. Hi, Judy! I am alive with excitement as Russ, Jake and I prepare to leave tomorrow morning for Stamford and Art-Is-You! Will definitely see you there!! Love your “thick and juicy” bookmarks, and loved seeing the layering process. Although a lot of the photos didn’t “bulk up” when I clicked on them, I was able to follow along. Sure hope one of these little beauties will have my name on it!! Mwah!

  6. What a great idea for a swap gift! They look spectacular! Have a wonderful time. I look forward to reading all about it when you return.

  7. Absolutely loved the tutorial, loved the process and love my piece of Judy Shea Art!! I am so glad to have met you and regret that that we could not have spent more time together- but we will again! You are a sweetheart ,that I feel like I have known forever!! Hugs and love XO

Let me know what you think about this post.

