Mixed Media/Altered Paint Brush

Standard

When Donna Downey announced that she was decorating her new studio walls with altered paint brushes and accepting them from anyone interested is sending one in, I was so ready for the challenge.

Meet “Barbara Brush”, everyone.  She’s engaged to Sherwin.  She loves to sing, go for sweeps (walks), loves birds (and occasionally has been known to take a few in from the cold)…  and she flies… she does have wings, after all.  I don’t know where she goes, but her bristles are all a mess when she returns and she says she only went to visit her friend, “Benjamin Moore”.  Hmm, wonder is Sherwin knows about this.  Well, it’s Donna Downey’s problem now.

Sorry, off track.

The handle is covered with polymer clay that I textured and baked.  The face is also clay.  I started with a basic mold face and made it my own by adding cheeks, lip and stretched the nose and jaw.  Her eye shadow is glitter glue.  I have her a little eyeliner and some lipstick (paint).  Her hair is made from jute twine.  Wings, bird and heart are also polymer clay.  I added ribbon and lace around her chest.

I had a hard time parting with her.  Which just makes me want to make another one for the house.

You can see all this series of  brushes HERE, on Donnas’ blog.  They are so creative.

Judy shea brush-

Well, another work week starts tomorrow.  Say it isn’t so.  Much cooler weather here and I’m loving it.

Have a great week everyone, and thanks for stopping by.

Judy 

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

18 responses »

  1. Your brush is amazing. The detail is so different from the other brushes. It must have taken hours to achieve this masterpiece.

  2. Judy my friend, your creativity just blows me away! Barbara Brush is beautiful and so incredibly imaginative. It must have been hard to part with her. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Hi Judy! Thanks for the comment about my brush! I love the texture that you added to your brush!! Wasn’t it a fun project!

  4. Hi Judy,
    Today I got to see your ORIGINAL art work in PERSON. Yippee!!!!
    I went to Donna Downey’s studio in Huntersville, North Carolina about a 15 minute drive from my house. I was right that it was the best. The detail work is amazing. I even took it off the wall to look at it closely. I was so excited to see and feel your work up close and personal. lol
    It was an amazing piece of work. Some of the other brushes were “cute” looking but, yours was very PROFESSIONAL looking. I think it is the face that stands out the most.
    I thought you might be interested in one of your PUPILS getting to see your work and take it down off the wall. lol lol I just couldn’t help myself. lol
    Barb

  5. Barb, are you kidding? That is so cool and THANK YOU so much. you are too funny. You are so lucky to be so close to Donna’s studio. I would love to be close to her and attend her classes. You have really made my day/night/weekend.

Let me know what you think about this post.

