Israeli Couscous Salad

Standard

Ah, summertime.  Can you believe that July is over?  Where, tell me where did it go?

I was inspired by my sister, Linda and her daughter, Tara, with this couscous recipe.  Thanks, lovely ladies.

Of course, you know me.. I don’t stick to any recipe perfectly.  So, I decided to give the salad a try and I’m so glad I did.  It’s perfect for anytime.  With a meal or alone.

Here how I put it together….

Ingredients:

1 Box of Israeli (pearl) couscous – cooked and cooled down – (I get mine at Trader Joes).. But you can use Orzo or any smaller pasta.
1/2 of a large red pepper, chopped
3 scallions chopped
1/2 Cup fresh curly parsley, chopped
1/2 Cup fresh spinach leaves, chopped
1/2 Cup of tomatoes, chopped.. I take out the juice and seeds
1/2 Cup or less of dried cranberries
Feta Cheese or even chopped fresh mozzarella would be delightful.

I wanted to chop up some Kalamata olives, but I didn’t have any, but that’s what I would do next time.

Now, everyone..you can put whatever you want in this salad.. less or more.. it’s your world.

 

In a large bowl, add all the ingredients.. look how purdy above.

For the dressing:  make it to your taste.. more lemon, less.. more olive oil, less??

3-4 tablespoons olive oil
1/8 cup lemon juice
1 tablespoon granulated garlic (not powder) or use fresh, but chop it really fine.
1/2 teaspoon sugar (or not)

Whisk this up.. taste it before you pour it on.. and adjust it to your liking.  You can also add balsamic vinegar to this.

Add crumbled Feta cheese on top… OR…

I added some left over bbq chicken, cut up.

This was a great fresh lunch. Easy peasy.  Imagine what you could put in this. Don’t get me started.. Ok, well, just a little… chopped fresh zucchini, summer squash, cooked corn kernels cut off the cobb.  I’ll stop now.

Try it, let me know and most of all… ENJOY!

Thanks for stopping by.

Judy ♥ (green for salad)

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

4 responses »

  1. Do you know I’ve never tried couscous before so I think you’ve motivated me. And no, I do not believe July is gone! I was just thinking to myself how Target’s had back to school supplies out for almost a month – geez, these kids don’t seem to get a break before everyone’s reminding them it’s back to school time.

Let me know what you think about this post.

