A birthday dedication to an amazing father

Standard

I know this may be a bit strange to write about, but today my father would have been 100 years old.

I also know that if cancer didn’t take him from us, he would have made it to 100.

For those of you who follow my blog, we are of Middle Eastern decent.  Big family.. lots of love, laughs and eating…. you know how that goes in big families… and yes a bit of craziness too.

My dad was born in 1912, came to America as a young boy, went back to the old country to choose a wife (yes, choose) and brought my mom back to America to live a bring up a family.  A family that grew into the 7 of us.. mom, dad, 4 girls (Joan, Liz, Linda and Judy) and 1 boy (Joe).

Dad was our King and Mom is still our queen.  His love for his wife and children was second to none.  He was always there for us, no matter what.  He would be so proud to see his 12 grandchildren grow and succeed and now his great grandchildren come into this world and join the family.  Yes, dad, you now have 6 great grandchildren and 2 more on the way any day now.   How proud he would be to see all of this.  But, I know he is looking down on us and is proud.

It’s hard to believe the 12 years has passed since he left us, but he is always thought of… always.

It’s interesting that the number 12 is coming up a lot.  He was born in 1912, passed away 12 years ago and has 12 grandchildren.   l love when that happens.

On behalf of my 4 other siblings and my mom, who is our rock to this day, we want to say Happy Birthday to an amazing father.  Happy Birthday, Dad.. we love you and miss you.

Love,

Your Number 5

Judy

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

9 responses »

  1. You are so thoughtful and respectful to put this together. Dad would be so proud of you and your family. You are a good sister and friend. Love Linda and Rick

  2. Thanks for posting this AJ!! Love you and love the dedication…he would have loved it! 😉

  3. What a touching tribute to our Dad! He lives on in all of us. Well done Judy.

  4. Judy what a beautiful post. It gave me the chills. How very blessed you and your family are.

    I wish your father a happy birthday in heaven. Believe me, he knows what’s going on down here and is smiling.

  5. Cousin Judy its been a long time and I miss Uncle Fred more than I can describe……he was the one reason for my success as he taught me the ability to perform in public.,..a true showman.!!!!
    George Noory

Let me know what you think about this post.

