Playing Around with Expressive Drawing

Standard

Ok.. I just want to scream.  Somehow, someone stupid (me) must have deleted all my pictures off my camera.  I had LOTS and LOTS of pictures on there.. art, food, family.  I don’t know what happened.. I just don’t.  I had done some recipes which included homemade mozzarella cheese.. I know… and it’s gone.  I don’t know whether to laugh or cry.
I digress.

I feel better now.. thank you.  AND I will make another batch of Mozzarella cheese and blog it.  So fun!  AND I was able to download some other recipes on Picasa a couple of weeks ago.  Thank goodness.

So, what I do have on the camera is my little art time I had this weekend.  First, it rained all day on Sunday.  Now, call me crazy, but I LOVE a rainy day.  I was so happy.  It was also great, because we needed the rain badly.

Nope, I wasn’t going to vacuum the house or wash the floor.. no way no how.. I was taking advantage of the perfect day.

I gathered my little art bag filled with watercolor Moleskine watercolor sketchbook, gel sticks (these are great), water, paintbrush and black tip marker.

I was in the process of reading a new book that I got called “Expressive Drawing – A practical guide to freeing the artist within”.  This book helped me realize that not all drawing is about portraits and perfect lines.  This freed me to just go ahead the make my marks on paper.

Here is the first one I did.  I just took black oil pastel crayon and just make lines and whatever I wanted.  Then I took advantage of areas to put color in.  These gel sticks are creamy goodness.  Once you make your mark with them, you just take a paintbrush, dip in water, and just brush it over the color… It’ turns into a watercolor, semi-transparent yumminess.

This next page was a little more doodily. I used my black tip maker and just started making lines and shapes and didn’t think too much about what I was going for.  Once I had it all outlined, I took my gel sticks and colored in the open areas.  Fun, yes?  Can I get an “ohhh” and a “ahhhh”?

I did have other steps on how I got to these pages, but the camera ate the pictures.  Now, really, do I have to start having a love hate relationship with my camera now?

As I begin to face new challenges and bigger responsibilities at work very soon, I keep asking myself, how the heck am I going to keep this life/work/art balance thing going.   Well, I’ve done it so far and won’t give up my love for my blog, my art and my readers.  Give me an “HELL YAH”!

So, that’s just a little diddy on what’s shakin over here.

Thanks for stopping my.. I mean it.

Judy

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

13 responses »

  1. you are sooooooooo talented! I love your prints and think you could make some fabulous fabrics!

  2. Oh.. maybe I’ll get famous and sell my prints on fabric, then you can quilt with them. You need to get a blog for her quilts. Everyone, Julie is a great quilter.

  3. Oh nooooo…. now I get what you were saying about the camera. Ok, put the camera away for tonight & then say a little prayer to St. Francis (lost things) – they’ll be back tomorrow. But I love your doodles. Those gel sticks sound like a lot of fun.

  4. How does that go.. “St. Anthony, St. Anthony, look around, something’s lost and needs to be found”. There, so they will appear on my SD card tomorrow? Promise?

  5. oh,Judy, you are so funny!
    If friends were flowers, I’d pick YOU!
    You have something special inside of you;that makes you different in a good way.

  6. So sorry you lost everything. Really like the use of the gel sticks.
    Hang in there and don’t even think about letting up with your art skills.
    We need your refreshing ideas to keep us going.

  7. Nancy, that’s one of the nicest things that anyone has said to me, except for “dinner’s ready”. No seriously… thank you so much.

  8. oooohhhhh…aaahhhhh! I love your drawings, Judy. They have such a spontaneous, playful energy/feel to them. You inspire me to go pick up my art stuff and just play! I’m so sorry to hear about losing your camera pics. I’ve done that before and it feels awful. I’m glad to see that you were able to have some rainy day fun in your studio. Those watercolor gel sticks sound yummy. Yes, please keep on creating and sharing your wonderful self on your blog! 🙂

  9. Love the doodles Ms. Judy. They remind me of Picasso’s abstract work. Very cool indeed. So sorry to hear that the pictures on your camera went “poof.” Sometimes I miss our low-tech “old days.” Next time I see you, we’ll do a cleansing smudge of your camera to banish the gremlins.

Let me know what you think about this post.