Bigger is not necessarily better

Standard

Huh?

I took on a challenge to start of large canvas measuring 24″ x 30″.  Not as easy as gluing, painting and collaging things on it like my other smaller works.  There are bigger spaces and I do the blank stare.  You know the look I”m talking about?  What the hell am I going to put in that big space?  Well, let me show you how it started and where I am with it now.

I gessoed the canvas then put on molding paste to get some texture on the surface.

I put a wash of quinacridone nickel azo gold paint then added Cobalt Teal in certain areas using Golden Fluid Acrylics.

So far so good, right?   Then I added some more texture with molding paste, stencils, doilies.

Then I added “Wood Icing” texture.

Here’s what the canvas looked like after the texture pastes.

Ok.. then I added two fleur di lis with molding paste, stained the wood icing and then I went on to painting the checkerboard and the fleur de lis…   Some parts I’m loving.. some.. eh.. not so much..

I am not liking the checkerboard… too overpowering.. so I”m going over it with a blue crackle paste.  I know, I know.. don’t worry.. it’ll be ok.

While the crackle paste was still wet, I ran a metal comb around in a cirle to give a spiral effect. Cool.

Here’s what the crackle paste looked like after it dried.  Love it.

Next up was to add some fabric to the canvas.  I used a caulking I bought at a dollar store a few years ago.  Works great.. strong bond.  I don’t stay with necessarily one product for adhesives.  I use gel medium, caulking and one of my favorites, “Weldbond“.

Let me stop here and tell you how much I changed on this canvas.  I got so engrossed into it that I didn’t take some pictures.  BUT… after I covered the checkerboard, I painted over the doily texture, then I put gold leaf on it.. then I put fabric over that.  Next, I painted over the wood icing, then I put fabric upholstery over the bottom half of that. I just was not liking where everything was falling.  I have a larger space towards the bottom that I’m not sure how that will flow.

So, here is the rest of the pix I took and then the last one is where is stands now.

Below, you can see I added more fabric and one of my coffee filter art pieces, and modeling cream by Viva Decor.

I pushed white acrylic paint into the crackle paste section then wiped it off.  The white sank into the cracks.  You can see the fabric to the bottom left and the roses on top.  Also in that area, I added an old paper doily piece that was ripped.

I also added cheese cloth to the large space on the bottom right and gold leaf.

See..this is what I mean.. bigger is not better, it’s a bit intimidating.  But, I am convinced that I will finish this and once I do, I’ll feel confident to tackle another one.

See what I mean about all the open space…. dun dun dun…. (insert scream here).

My plan is to get this done while I am on vacation from work.  I still have so much to do to it…collage papers, polymer clay…. I can’t wait to find out what I’ll do next.   I’ll blog my final pictures.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS, EVERYONE !!!

Thanks for subscribing and stopping by.

Judy

14 responses »

  1. Hi Judy,
    Your work is amazing. I learned about 3 new products that I am going to try in the future.
    I just know this new project will be amazing.
    Bigger may not be better but, your just the person to bring it all together. I can’t wait so see your finished piece. You and your family have a wonderful Christmas. See you next year with your WORK OF ART!
    Barb

  2. Hello Judy,

    My mouth just dropped down while I was looking at each step of your beautiful creation. You just outdid yourself once again with this piece you make Judy. I love your different techniques and your detailed explanation of your pieces. I have been a little bit more motivated lately to do some beading. I’ve been working with copper wire just to see what I can come up with. I just love what you do with your God given talent. Merry Christmas Judy and keep creating…………..Viviane

  3. Fantastic, Judy!! I love that you use Wood Icing, too!! Your step-by-step tutorial is really wonderful. I definitely want to find more stencils and keep experimenting, too! You are such an inspiration to those of us who love to experiment with art materials also!

    Merry, merry Christmas, Judy.
    So glad I met you in the blog-world this year!
    ~Mary

  4. Very cool to do the step by step! I loved seeing where you were going with this. And that crackle – very nice! Will be interested to see where you take the piece next.
    Happy Holidays dear Judy! So glad we have become ‘blog friends.’.
    xoxo
    Mary Beth

  5. You are too kind Viviane… thank you. Glad to see your creativity perking up again. Love copper wire.. I don’t use it much.. maybe to make spirals. Most important.. have fun fun fun.

  6. Barb.. so glad to hear I gave you some ideas. Thank you so much for your kind words. I sure will do my best to make this piece one of my favorites.

  7. Hey Judy,

    You used your backpack of tools and did very well with your self-challenge. Congratulations! You are one creative lady.
    love ya,
    Bobbie

  8. Hi Judy, Am a bit behind on reading my favorite blogs. First congratulations on going BIG! It is quite a challenge, one that I’ve been hesitant to take lately. The canvas looks like it is progressing along nicely. I can relate the that fear of “blank space.” I bet the “perfect” embellishment will come along and pull the whole piece together. I know you know this, but don’t rush the process. A little bit here and there and then one day you’ll dive right in and get it all done. It took me two years to complete my Spirit Messenger “Insecurity.” Time may wait for no one but our art will. It knows when it is time to be revealed.

    Happy New Year!

  9. I LOVE your experiments!!! Keep at it. This piece is shaping up to be an awesome beauty! (Already is). I also think it’s great that you’re keeping track of what you do. I look at a piece next week and say to myself…”How’d I do that”?!?

  10. Thank you so much, Annie! Thanks for stopping by. Good thing I have the pictures and my posts, because I do forget how I did a technique after a while.

Let me know what you think about this post.

