Back from art funk, turkey coma and another give-a-way!!

Standard

Well, I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving.  It has been non-stop family and eating the past 3 days and frankly, this needs to stop right now.

Thanks also for your patience while I have not posted.

I have been waiting for this weekend to be here for a while now.  Being gone for a week on a business trip and then having Thanksgiving here at the house has been weighing on my mind (in a good way).. and now, it’s over and I can finally get back in the studio… I think.

Back to my art – Day 1:

Here it is.. early evening, Saturday 11/26.  Can I be honest here?  Thank you.  This hiatus I’ve been on from my art has really put me in a funk.  Where in the world did my “moju” go?   My “get up and go.. got up and went”.    Well, that has to stop now too.  I started to write this blog, but now I will stop to go upstairs to see what I can start to create.

Back to my art – Day 2:

Sunday, 11/27… Taking Megan back to Maine to college.  Do I have any energy to drag my body back up in the studio when I get back… let’s see.

So, I did end up playing around a bit in the studio..

First, I took a small Moleskine notebook I got on my business trip and altered the front and back.

CLICK IMAGE TO ENLARGE AND SEE DETAILS.

This small notebook measures 5″ x 3″.

I started with a white gesso layer on the front and back covers (I’m thinking I should have used black).  Next layer of paint was colbalt teal (my fav).. then I added clear crackle medium.  Once that dried.. I rubbed in some dark brown acrylic paint into the cracks and wiped it off.  Once dry, I rubbed in some acrylic white paint and wiped that off.   I wanted to get the brown and white into the crevices of the cracks.  Added letters, as you can see and rubbed a little of distress ink on them to age them.  Then I took red acrylic paint and dipped a credit card edge on it and made some streaks.

On the back of the book, I glued an image and painted around the edge of the image to blend it in with the teal.  I added lace paper with gel medium.  Love that look.. one of my favorites.  Also, added a piece of an old doily to the back.

I may add some polymer clay buttons or some gems to finish this off.

Next……

Now, I’m working on an old passport covers that I got from my mom.  So far, I painted it with white acrylic paint, let dry.. then spread on some maroon molding paste and tapped it with a palette knife with black paint.

This passport measures about 5″x3″.  Maybe add some fabric or poly clay B&B’s (“Button n’bellishments” – my handmade polymer clay pieces).

I’m not done with these little books, but I wanted to show you what I’ve done so far.

More…..

After dropping my daughter off in Maine, we went to a store that has remnants of fabric for really cheap prices.. and then… they have fabric bolts of all kinds for $3.99 a yard.. yes, that’s what I said.  Here are a couple remnants I picked up.

Aren’t they cool?  I love that the music fabric is not consistent in some areas.  I imagine doing a simple fabric dye with walnut ink to stain it.  Can I get an “ahhhh…. ohhhh”?

So.. I feel like sharing in my good deals and in honor of turkeys, my art funk, back to blogging and my readers, I’d like to do a give -a-way of some of my favorite fabrics pieces.  I just love incorporating them in my mixed media work.

As a matter of fact, I purchased 6 yards of fabric for some curtains I’m putting (having made) in my family room.  I’m going to take the excess fabric and add it to a new mixed media canvas I plan on making for the room.  I need to get some art in that room since it’s been painted.

Ok ok.. off track again…  back to the give a way……

If you’d like to win some of my favorites fabric pieces, leave a comment on this post (U.S. only, please.. sorry) and I’ll choose a winner this weekend. (pssst… come closer.. I may add some other goodies too).  After all, we mixed media junkies need more stuff, don’t we?

That’s it for now.. as always.. thanks for stopping by and hanging in there with me.  You’re the best!!

Judy

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

10 responses »

  1. Oh how fun Judy. I really appreciate all your ideas. They are so fun and I have to agree one of the colors I like is the teal as well. Really, I’m a purple freak. Have you ever done any silversmithing? I’m thinking I want to get back into it, but scared I guess. I have been working with copper, (love it) and I have almost completed my creation of a necklace that I even shocked myself while I was making. In our art world, sometimes things just fall into place son’t they? Well, I certainly enjoy your blogs. Keep blogging and keep the colors coming Judy………have fun………..Viviane

  2. Hi Judy,
    I know you have been missed by all of us. I really like what you did with the journal. Get your “get up and go” going. lol
    I would love to win your fabric pieces, who wouldn’t? lol
    I have a question and would like your advice.
    I am working on repurposing an old book into an art journal.
    Would you suggest working the journal cover before starting the journal or do the cover when you are finished journaling?
    Thanks so much.
    Can’t wait for your next email. Oh by the way, I did the dryer sheet project and it turned out great.
    Barb

  3. Hi Barb.. I love to hear the some people use my projects.. the dryer sheets are so great to work with.. Try the coffee filters too. As far as journaling goes, I am no expert. I guess it depends on what you want to do to the covers. Papers, mediums, paints, 2D stuff? If you fill up the journal so it’s really a think book, you may want to get the covers done first. Otherwise, you want be able to work on them, as it may be awkward. Then you may want to wait until the end so you can go with the flow if your journal has a theme. Oh, so many possibilities. There are so many journal blogs out there. Kelly Kilmer has a great blog.. she does LOTS of journaling. Copy or click on this URL: http://kellykilmer.blogspot.com/. If you go to YouTube and search for altered books or journals, you’ll find many artists showing their techniques.

  4. Great post. I’m glad that you’ve been able to get some time in the studio. Good for you. I’ve learned that I don’t have to bring ideas up to the studio…as long as I just show up. Most of the time something perks it’s way through my brain. Sometimes I just sit and soak up the energy. And sometimes THAT is enough.

  5. I hear what you are saying about turkey coma…I have been cranking out 30 party favors to give our guests at our 9th Liberty Jingle this Saturday. I made these neat magnets, from dominoes, and the little village tea light thingies that Tim Holtz made last year. I will post pictures on my blog after the party. I am also thrilled that 9 pieces of my art were published in a new magazine called “Just Steampunk”. I do want to start working with fabric and make some journals in the new year.

  6. Raine.. thanks for your wise words.. I say Amen, Sista.
    Pat: Congrats on your published works. I’ll check out your blog. You sound like a great hostess with the mostess.

  7. Judy, Welcome back to the land of creating. I adore the moleskine cover and don’t you just love using those credit cards for spreading paints and mediums? Sweet….. fabric finds!! Thanks for sharing.

  8. I am glad to see that you were able to overcome your art funk! Question for you about you blog…how do you stay consistent with posting? I can’t seem to ever get my blog to be my priority. Any advice?

  9. I try to stay consistent, but it hasn’t been easy lately, Mary Beth. I try to put a day aside.. maybe a Sunday or at night. Some of my blogger friends put in a quote, to to keep it active or even a poem.

Let me know what you think about this post.

