Judy? Are you out there?

Standard

Yes Yes, I’m here.  I was only gone a minute, wasn’t I?

Wow.. what a couple of crazy weeks, I tell you.  Between working my day job and surviving the New England October snowstorm with no electricity, I have been completely un-creative.  I’ve lost my MoJu (get it? instead of  “mojo”   MoJu for Judy?).  No?

Just when we were enjoying our New England Walk, a freak Nor’easter hits us like we never expected.

I took a few pictures to capture what was going on.

The night of the storm, outside my front door in the flower garden:

Kind of pretty at night like this.  You can see my roses peeking out from the blanket of snow.   We really didn’t get a lot of snow.. about 6″, but the weight of the snow and the leaves that hadn’t fallen yet, is what did all the damage.

As we drove out of town, we took a couple of pictures along the way.

This is only a couple a SEVERAL trees that obstructed our roads.  Lots of wires were down on the roads also.

Check this tree out.  We actually drove underneath it which was probably not a good idea.

Many towns were out of power for about a week… and I believe that most have their power back.   The roads are still a bit messy and it’s disappointing that they are still not entirely cleared yet.  This is only the beginning of the season.  One can only hope these towns have their acts together and prepare for a tough winter so we can avoid another outage.

But, really, this is nothing compared to the devastating and tragic occurences that have happened in other parts of our country and around the world.  I am grateful that this is all that happened.  Just because I could never be a pioneer woman, doesn’t mean I can’t whine about it.

Well, Dixie doesn’t care.. she’s just glad to be home sleeping on her warm pillow… what a life!   Love the tongue.

Before the storm hit, I was able to get in the studio to create a few hand-made embellishments.

If you follow my blog, you know how I just enjoy making these.  I love to manipulate them to make them my own. You can see that I added cheeks to the faces. I have many molds that I made when I first began working with polymer clay about 10 years ago.  I recall bringing wads of it with me wherever I went and when I saw a cool texture, I’d impressed it and carefully take the clay home to bake.  Yes, my family thought I was coo coo.

I probably won’t post for about two weeks now as I have a business trip coming up and then a week off to prepare for Thanksgiving at my home this year.  HELP!   I plan on getting in some studio time after the holiday since it will be a long weekend.  No Black Friday shopping for me…. no sir eee.

Thanks for your patience, everyone, and for stopping by to see if I was still in existence.

Judy

10 responses »

  1. Lovely post, Judy. Love to read your ‘photo stories’. You are so creative in so many ways. Sorry I missed you at the ripcg meeting. (next time…..)

    Happy holidays!

  2. Great to have you back, Judy!
    Love your landscape photos…even though I am not ready for snow! :O

    Of course your new pieces look wonderful, and the pic of Dixie is just precious! If only we could all be that relaxed. Her tongue is the best! 🙂

    All the best,
    Mary
    Mixed-Media Map Art

  3. Glad to hear that your power is back on and you all survived that freak storm ok. Always love to see your colorful ‘bellshments! Have a good trip and a wonderful holiday! -K

  4. Hello Judy, I was amazed at the snow storm pictures in your latest post. Wow, in October, I hope we don’t get snow early this year. I loved the picture of Dixie, my little boy sleeps with his tongue out too, so cute. You are an incredible, a storm brewing like that and there are you creating your beautiful pieces. Keep up the great work. Regards Mandy Currie (mandycurrie@googlemail.com)

  5. Great photos of the snow, the first two are so pretty. Dixie is wicked cute, and that tongue….hilarious. I think that is so great that you carried poly clay around with you to capture impressions, so clever. Safe travels.

  6. Hi Judy, I know how you feel. Busy times with shows, family stuff, holidays & Mother Nature’s wicked sense of humor. I think we had close to 12″ here…and we’re not that far from each other! Glad you & your family were safe during the storm. Love the picture of Dixie. Our fur babies do have a way of putting life into perspective.

  7. Ah yes… fur babies.. adorable especially when Dixie stares at me like I’m going to give her a piece of my banana.. I usually do. Thanks, Amy.

Let me know what you think about this post.

