Hurry up, patience..

Standard

Ok.. so picture this.. this is me…

I hunker down at my computer to catch up on some art videos on YouTube..  I begin to watch a tutorial on an art technique and the artists speeds up the process.. really fast.  I have about 10 minutes to go to the end, so now I’m getting a little impatient and I slide the bar faster so the video is done.. like.. right now.  Ok, got it.. that was cool, moving on.

What’s wrong with that picture… Have I no patience anymore.  Is being a mom, working full-time, chef, wife and artist making me more impatient? It think the answer is a bit fat YES.

The other day I tried doing Yoga from a DVD..  my first time ever doing Yoga… I was bored…but, I get why people love it.

When I go for my power walks, I have music that makes me move like nobody’s business… I just can’t go for a walk without music.  I have a purpose… go go go… get your workout over with and move on.  There, that’s done, thank god.

So with all my impatience and a busy life, like a lot of us lead, I thought I would share an excerpt my one of my favorite go to books, The Language of Letting Go, by Melody Beattie.

“The people who are most successful at living and loving are those who can learn to wait successfully.  Not many people enjoy waiting or learning patience.  Yet, waiting can be a powerful tool that will help us accomplish much good. 

We cannot always have what we want when we want it.  For different reasons, what we want to do, have, be, or accomplish is not available to us now.  But there are things we could not do or have today, no matter what, that we can have in the future.  Today, we would make ourselves crazy tyring to accomplish what will come naturally and with ease later.  We can trust that all is on schedule.  Waiting time is not wasted time.  Something is being worked out – in us, in someone else, in the Universe.  We don’t have to put our life on hold while we wait.  We can direct our attention elsewhere; we can practice acceptance and gratitude in the interim; we can trust that we do have a life to live while we are waiting – then we go about living it.

Deal with your frustration and impatience, but learn how to wait.  The old saying, “you can’t always get what you want” isn’t entirely true.  Often in life, we can get what we want – especially the desires of our heart – if we can learn to wait.”

Ahhhh… feel better?   Take care of yourself.  Pay attention to what you need and nourish yourself with it.  One step at a time.. breathe in and out.   Ya, right, who am kidding.. speaking of steps.. gotta hit the pavement.

No, seriously… I meant that… the part about taking care of yourself.

Thanks for walking by… really fast.

Judy

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

6 responses »

  1. Boy, what a day to pick some time to stop in and say Hello to my little MA Friend. What a great post …I swear I feel the same way girl. I don’t know if I’m coming or going anymore, which way to turn to get me there faster…LOL Need to catch up with each other…Have a beautiful, slow pace weekend.
    Love ya Girl
    Cheers!

  2. Judy, I feel EXACTLY the same way about workouts and Yoga. I know everyone loves Yoga but fast paced workouts are more satisfying to me. Besides everyone has different levels of patience. At least I can meditate effectively, but my head can pop off when my kids push my buttons. No patience there! Well I applaud you for being kind to yourself no matter what. Great post.

  3. Hi Judy,

    Ah yes, the patience thing. My lesson came when we built our house. Now you know why one of my motto’s is “There are things you can control and things you can’t control.” Part of having patience is learning to let go. That is harder and harder in our society where we have access to so many things right at our fingertips. Instant gratification. Ironically, it was yoga that also helped me learn patience. I had to slow down, accept my inability to do certain poses, and relax. I spent a few classes pounding the floor with my fists because I couldn’t get into a pose. Yoga can bring up the dirt and it can help you release it too.

    As always, awareness is half the battle.

  4. As a spinner who is venturing into mixed media I have the opposite problem to you – how to speed up the creative process! I still find the “throwing things at paper” technique daunting as I generally have to think about what I am doing, and the doing takes a long time. Even experimental art yarns take time to prepare then spin. To some this would require a lot of self-discipline; to others its something that comes naturally and one becomes grounded as the creative process progresses, and its as natural as breathing once your finger muscles have memorised what they do. Being laid back is good, but so is being efficient – its striking the happy medium that is important to all of us as artists!

  5. Wonderful post, Judy! Just like you, I always found myself living life at such a fast pace, especially when my kids were younger and there was always something to do and take care of – what’s next? what do I have to do? am I taking care of everything? I know I’m forgetting something! I was always on to the next thing, the next moment, never stopping and being fully present in this moment. My circumstances created this in me, I think, and I always felt so overwhelmed. Then my kids grew up, I found myself alone and over the last several years, I’ve discovered a slower way of being, aided by my meditation, yoga and T’ai Chi. Slowly but surely, I am getting in touch with that calm place inside, a place where I can just be and not have to worry about what’s next. I’m a lot quieter these days, inside and out, and that’s a much more comfortable place for me. I always wondered exactly what I was running from back then…or was I running TO something? love ya, Karen

Let me know what you think about this post.

