In the Studio – Tutorial & Give-a-way!

Standard

It’s still darn cold here in Massachusetts.  We are all wondering where Spring is.  We’ve taken 1 step forward and 5 steps back.  I wouldn’t doubt if we went from cold to hot and have no Spring at all.

Well, I’ve been sneaking in some art work in the studio and made a little tutorial for you.

You can see from my photo below what I used for materials/tools – palette paper, acrylic paints, Staz on ink pad in brown, Portfolio oil pastels (optional), Wood Icing,  drink coaster (I’ve been collecting them from restaurants for years), blending tool, Stampbord shapes.  Also not shown below… cheesecloth and gel medium.

Note: Click on all pictures for details.

I started out by taking a piece of cheese cloth layed out on palette paper and spread it with Golden Gel Medium… let dry.

It will rip right off the palette paper with no sticking.

Rip it to the size you want and paint with acrylics.  Here I used raw sienna and turquoise.  Set aside to dry.

Take a coaster and spread it with Wood Icing.  Let dry. and do the same with the small shapes of Stampbord.  I only iced 2 shapes for this piece.

While the Wood Icing is still wet, you can stamp shapes into them; I chose not to for this project.

Once dry, I scraped into the Wood Icing with a sharp tool to make designs.

I painted the coaster and smaller shapes with Quinacridone Nickel Azo Gold fluid acrylic.

Once dry, I spritzed them with Walnut Ink and rubbed into the surface.

Then I took the blending tool and brown Staz On ink and rubbed the edges of the shapes.

Oooooo… ahhhhhh… McDreamy.

Now, take the smaller shapes and spray more walnut ink to get into the scratch grooves you make and wipe off the raised areas.  Paint with acrylics or use Portfolio crayons to make beautiful colors.

Here is what I ended up with.  I scratched some circles and painted them and put some splashes of red in there to make them pop.  I also did a little rubber stamping on them.

I glued the cheese cloth on the coaster the added the finished Stampbord shapes.

Here is my end result.  Coaster measures about 6″x4″.

I love the colors of this piece.  Makes me happy.  So happy, that I am going to give it away.

Leave a comment here and pass it along to a friend to also leave a comment and I’ll pick a winner in one week (Wednesday, 4/27).  Make sure you leave your email address so I can let you know if you won.

Thanks for stopping by and playing along.

Judy

9 responses »

  1. Wow! This turned out amazing! I have never used the wood icing but I love the end result! Simply stunning. Thank you so much for sharing this project and the tutorial!

  2. What a great project and tutorial! You take the simplest things and make them into wonderful art pieces. I have to give that a try. I don’t have coasters but I’m sure I can find something to use for a base. 😉

  3. What a fabulous tutorial and project, Judy! I just love those Southwest colors, very earthy, very tribal looking. Once again, you’ve come up with an amazing way to recycle everyday items into a beautiful piece of art. Gorgeous!!!!

  4. That looks amazing, and so simple! One thing, just what is wood icing? I haven’t come across it here in Australia yet, but then we often don’t get a lot of your wonderful craft media.

  5. I came here from Mary Beth Shaw’s blog, and have to say, this project is stunning! I love the depth of color that you achieved, and the texture of the wood icing is very eye-catching… and I will definitely be borrowing your idea about stiffening the cheesecloth! Your blog is one I’ll visit again soon, definitely!

  6. There is something so appealing in the mixed media aspect of work done by you and others – like Mary Beth Shaw, whose blog I watch. There is an aspect of play and fun and then, in the end, you have a beautiful piece or artwork! Then you say you’re going to give it away?? Mixed media artists are definitely a special bunch! Count me in to the drawing 🙂

  7. I came across your blog from visiting Crescendoh and hopping over to Mary Beth Shaw’s blog…..this is a great tutorial….I’ve been seeing this wood icing on a couple of blogs and I guess I will have to have some. This is a wonderful piece you did and thank you for sharing … I’ll think I have found a new blog to visit…

Let me know what you think about this post.

