Big Bold Backgrounds

Standard

As I continue to do some Spring cleaning in my studio, I took a large piece of Wausau paper out the the wastebasket to give it a new life.  I thought, what kind of Mixed Media Artist would I be to throw this away.

I began to spread paint around with my old gift card, which make great small paint pallets by the way.  Layer after layer of colors.  If I didn’t like a section, I simply painted over it with white paint.  This was a big background about 14″ x 11″.  I love the size and decided that it will become a large journal.   Since I only had the one large sheet, I had to make another to make a book.  I had some white poster board lying around.  Poster board paper.. the kind you used/use in school for projects… takes a lot of abuse with paint, water, gel medium.. really standing up to what I was doing to it.  Actually better than the Wausau paper.  Samantha Kira Harding gave me that tip a long time ago.. Thanks, Samantha!

Here is a look at them so far.  I say “so far”, because I know that I’ll end up putting some fabric on their or some polymer clay pieces.   Click on the picture to enlarge, then click again for details.

Cobalt Teal paint (Golden Fluid Acrylic) played a big part in these pages.  Just my favorite color.  I also used Ranger/Hellmuth Studio’s “landscape green”.  That combo is perfect together.  I used heavy body white acrylic paint to spread through stencils, did some transparency transfers, rubber stamping, charcoal stick.

Few more section shots.. click to enlarge.

I also purchased some dauber bottles for paint… they are actually BINGO ink bottles.   In the past I bought the dauber covers that can go on any basic acrylic paint bottle (ex: “folk art”).. but I did not like those.  I was always banging the bottle to get the paint flowing

Here are 3 that I made.  Cobalt Teal mixure with water and a little Golden Glazing Liquid.  My own version of green and Quinacridone Nickel Azo Gold.  All three of these colors are on the pages above.

So, my next step is to get hold of more poster board paper and make the inner pages… then binding it.  Not my thing, binding/sewing journal pages.  We’ll see how that one goes.  Stay tuned for more…

Thanks for stopping by.

Judy

6 responses »

  1. LOVE!

    Why not take out that big paper and play around! I love makin’ a mess and cutting it down and re-seeing what I was working on in a new way.

    There are totally easy ways to bind journals. Don’t be intimidated! You can always get it spiral bound, too, or just keep working on loose pages! Who says a journal has to be bound?

    Cobalt Teal’s my favorite color, too! I totally want to get some daubers, now!

  2. Beautiful pieces. I love all of the layering. They are pieces of art on their own but I agree that they’ll make great journal covers, too.
    I need to get some of those bingo ink bottles!

  3. Samantha… great to see you here. Yes, I thought of cutting it up and reusing it which I usually do, but something said BIG JOURNAL to me.
    Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Judy, I LOVE everything about your journal pages! The colors are so yummy and the white stenciling makes all of the colors pop and look richer to me. Your pages speak to me so much of Spring in their freshness. So beautiful. Thanks for sharing and great idea with the Bingo daubers!

  5. What?s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & help other customers like its helped me. Great job.

Let me know what you think about this post.

