In the Studio…& and a little surprise

Standard

Yes, I’ve been up in my studio again having fun creating.  I seemed to have push through my “rut” of not getting up there.  So, a few leftover nights and take out, got me out of the kitchen to spend time creating.  I just made the decision to not think about what I should do rather than what I WANT to do.. and that is to forget about chores and putting in extra hours in the office and concentrate on feeling good about my art and doing something about it.  Well, at least for one weekend anyway.  I think we all deserve that, don’ t you?

It’s still “wintery” here, so I will continue to hibernate, as they say in bear language.  What better way to enjoy a cold day than to be in the art studio.

Let’s start with my birds.  Well, you all know how much I love the birds that visit me by reading my few posts here and here.  They’ve inspired me so much that I’ve decided to create some of these little creatures with polymer clay.  I wanted to share them with you.  They are such a joy to make.

Ready?  Lots of pictures ahead…  Click each picture to enlarge.

This little fella is about 3″ long, 1″ thick.  I have him sitting on a wooden post that’s also about 3″ tall and 1″ round.  Painted the stand with a teal acrylic paint and rubbed some white over it.  Then gave the bottom and top edge an Inka Gold rub (love that stuff).

I’m loving the spiral wings.  This bird is about 4″ long.  I put gem stones on the eyes and a small heart on it’s back.  I’ve been making a lot of teeny tiny hearts for my birds.

Now these little guys are my favorites.  They are so tiny.  They all measure about 1″ long and 1/2″ wide.   I put the tiny hearts on their backs and one of them has hearts for wings. These hearts range in size from 1/8″ to 1/4″.

A gather of hearts and birds, above and below.

and now………….a little surprise………….. my first video on how to make my little birds.

Enjoy and thank you for stopping by.

4 responses »

  1. Judy, I love it!!! The little birds are so cute… and you did a wonderful job with this video demo. Look forward to many more of your informative videos!

  2. Hi Judy, Love the tiny birds. They are fun to make aren’t they? I can imagine making a bunch of them, maybe even in faux mixes, and stringing them into a necklace. Kinda like Native American type necklaces.

    Nice video!
    ~Bobbie

  3. Love the little birds Judy. I had fun making my little guys last year. The teeny ones you made are adorable. Great idea for making your own blingy embellishments. I’d say your muse is back! Now to check out your video.

  4. Wow, what a fantastic job you did with your video, Judy! You’re a natural teacher, so creative and inspiring. I absolutely love your little birds! yay, spring!

    love ya,
    karen

Let me know what you think about this post.

