A Mix in New England

Standard

It’s been raining here in Massachusetts for two days.  I secretly like the rain and I work in a home office so I don’t have to leave if I choose not to.  I am fortunate, I know.  How I wish I could just play in my studio listening to the rain pitter patter against the house.  A very comforting sound to me.

We also had our first frost this week.. it’s always a milestone to see the evident while layer of coldness on the grass.  The frost that has to be scraped off of car windows.  Brrr.. winter is coming; that’s what it says to everyone..so get ready.

Here is a couple of pictures of frost on my roses and hydrangeas.

This past weekend.. the strangest thing happened.. all of a sudden a huge flock of black birds (not crows) descended on our yard.. I mean hundreds of them.. I ran for my camera and caught this:

Front yard above

Backyard

Attacking my bird feeder. …. and then they were gone… never to be seen again.  Did someone tell them there was a free buffet or something?  Strange, don’t you think?  A sign.. or nothing?

I’ll be back in the studio next week and I take a few days off of work and enjoy some art play.  I’ll be posting some new works in the works.

Thanks for stopping by.

Judy

3 responses »

  1. That flock of birds is amazing! Any signs of Alfred Hitchcock? Between the birds and the frost I know that I wouldn’t have ventured outside. 😉

  2. The birds are starlings. They’ve been bombarding our yard too. This is their time of year to flock and deplete the bird feeders. Quite amusing to watch them attack the suet feeder and attempt to eat from the thistle feeder. They have no concept of size and weight ratios. And the cats go bonkers, watching them from the patio window. It’s fascinating, a little scary and annoying all at once.

Let me know what you think about this post.

