Two Girls and 11 Pizzas!

Standard

Hey Bloggereenies…

At the last minute, and after telling me she had no plans for a lazy Sunday,  I decided to invite a good friend over for some good food and chatting.  Karen is a great artist.. believe me when I tell you what an amazing beader, knitter and jewelry maker she is.. Did I miss anything, Karen?   Everything she touches turns to beauty.  Oh, wait.. she works for a Upton Tea Imports and manages the office there.  This makes her an expert in teas from all over the world.. Check her “Art and Tea” blog here. Her jewelry website is here.  Get ready to drool.

The Chef and the Photograher

I decided to make pizzas on my bbq grill, hence  grilled pizza.  We had fun… I was the chef and she was the photographer.  AND.. no fun meal is complete without a cocktail.  I bought some champagne and we made Limosas.. that would be champagne and Limeade.  Let me tell you how easy that goes down.  Oh me oh my.

Let’s begin.. I’ll take you on our afternoon journey….and here’s to you…. CHINK!


I bought frozen dough from the market.  Let all 5 loaves thaw.  5?  C’mon Judy, is that necessary?  What can I say, I come from a middle eastern background and we do nothing small.  Sooooo, once thawed, make balls with floured hands, cover with cloth and let rise.

Grilled Pizza moves very fast one the bread hits the grill.  So, you have to be completely ready with all your toppings… you name it.. it’s your world.  I asked Karen what her “dream toppings” were.  She told me.. broccoli, artichokes and mushrooms…  so be it.. let it be said.. let it be done.

Chop all your ingredients and get them ready.. This ain’t no kids play going on here… this is serious stuff… now let’s keep going.

Time for form the dough into the pizza… and coat the tops with olive oil.

Get the toppings ready… I made roasted veggies beforehand, cooked shrimp, broccoli, artichokes, turkey pepperoni.  Of course, mozz cheese and I also used a low fat Caesar dressing.. more on that one later…

Ready to grill….

Like I said.. it’s fast so get the grill pre-heated.   Put the first pizza dough on, olive side down…  Now, you’re probably wondering won’t it fall through the grills.. but it doesn’t . .. it starts to bake right away…. hello!

Look at the way this puffs up….once you start to see it bubble (like a pancake).. then it’s time to flip it over..

Ooooooooooo…. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Now.. get ready… this is the time to put the toppings on…….. sauce, cheese, toppings.. close the grill cover and let it do it’s  thang….

Watch…

This last one is the shrimp Caesar one I mentioned.. Caesar dressing as the sauce, cheese and then shrimp/chicken.. I bet basil would be wonderful.. I’m hungry.

Ok people.. I made 11 pizza’s..  11 fricken pizzas.. what’s wrong with me?

There were more…but we ate them…  and the last two I pooped out and threw cinnamon and sugar on instead.. that was a delicious improv.  Two others I just grilled and made paninis out of them the next day… great sandwich bread.

If you have a grill and are ambitious at all, you must try making pizza this way.  The bread… just the bread is so amazing.   Make a foccachia bread and dip it in to olive oil, parm/romano cheese and chopped garlic…. HELL-OH!

I sent Karen home with a pizza or two and we’ve been enjoying them as leftovers here at home.

This is a great dinner party idea.  Go for it.

Thanks for stopping bye.

Judy

Next up…. Taking a workshop with Kelly Kilmer.. I know you’re jealous!!!

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

5 responses »

  1. Okay that’s it! Are you trying to kill me or what? LOL I want to jump into my computer and have some of those amazing looking pizzas and stay with you for a month!

    I’m so freaking getting some Pizza tonight! LOL Now let’s see how fast I get the dough to rise!
    Cheers my friend.

  2. Judy, are you sure you weren’t on a cooking show at some time??? Maybe in a past life?

    You need to take your act to T.V. You’ve got it all—a great cook, great lines and a riot to listen to. You do this with your crafts too. You are a natural, Judy.

    I wish I could have been there and seen you and Karen doing this.

    Thanks for telling your story about the lazy Sunday. Hope Karen is having fun on her family at this time.

  3. Judy!!!! Wonderful post and a BIG thank you for your kind words about moi. You are so sweet. And have I told you lately what a fantabulous cook you are?!! Thank you for such an awesome time, such amazing, delicious pizzas and for being such a great friend.
    luv ya,
    Karen

  4. I just went to a friends house for BBQed pizza’s ~ I was a bit like “What pizza on the BBQ?” But it was so good!!! Wish I could have been at yours also : )
    Pattee

  5. Pingback: A Feast « Art and Tea

Let me know what you think about this post.

