There’s No Place Like Home

Standard

Hey Bloggerholics..

I’m back from our vacation at Martha’s Vineyard.  Such a beautiful island.  Every town has it’s own special charm.  From funky (Oak Bluffs) to secluded (Chilmark).  Our favorite is Edgartown.  Here are some shots in case you have not been there.

Edgartown Harbor

Menemsha Harbor on the other side of the island

Aquinnah (used to be called Gay Head).  This is also around the same area where they found the plane and bodies of JFK Jr, his wife and SIL.  The plane spiraled out of control into the ocean in 1999.  Hard to believe it was that long ago.


The famous Black Dog Tavern.

…and finally, the resting place of John Belushi.  They moved his body at one point soon after he died because there was too much media and fans all around it.  Then we believe they moved him back when things calmed down, but we are still not too sure about that.

Ok, back to reality now.    As beautiful as it is on our special island, there is no place like home.

Now a little time in the Judio…

I stamped some cotton strips with rubber stamps and colored and glittered them to make my own embellishments.    If you have ever had your eye brows waxed.. you know the little strips they use to rip the hair and cause you pain?  Well, this is what I stamped on.  My salon guy gave me a bunch.  I also was playing with some copper wire and making spirals. I added some glitz to the centers.  Click the picture for a closer look.

That’s all I got for now, my friends.

Thanks for stopping by.

Judy

Next up… a sneak peek into my art submission.

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

6 responses »

  1. Cool embellishments, Judy! I’ve gotta track down some of those strips. Only YOU would find an artistic use for them!!!!

  2. Judy, Welcome Back! What a beautiful Vacation you must have had. The pictures are gorgeous! Yes, it’s hard to believe that the tragic accident happened that long ago. It seems like yesterday to me. Time is sure flying my friend. Looking forward to your art submissions! The stamped cotton fabic looks fab. It’s it fun to just play with fabric and paints? LOL
    Have a great weekend.
    Cheers

  3. Great pictures of your vacation Judy,thanks.Your strips have given me an idea for book marks…I love the bright colors and textures,will have to see how they will laminate.I think your wire will somehow work great with it too…hmm…thank you for all your inspiring ideas,so glad your back!!

  4. Thanks Cindey… Oh bookmarks.. great idea. I bet you could use that product that stiffens fabric.. I think it’s called “stiffy”?

  5. Gorgeous photos, Judy, especially the one of Aquinnah. The ocean colors are so vivid. It sounds like you had a great time on the island. You are SO clever and creative with the eyebrow waxing strips. I love your wire spirals, too, with the center glitz. Awesome!!!

Let me know what you think about this post.

