Painted Pottery.. just for fun

Standard

Hey Blogsters:

To mix things up a bit and to just have fun,  I did something different from my usual creations.  I went to a paint your own pottery place with my two teenage daughters (19 and 15).

There is a place not to far from us called, ironically, Paint Your Own Pottery (PYOP).  Check out this great place.   This is an open, clean and friendly place for ALL ages.  The owner Vaishali Patel, is wonderful, along with her staff.

After it took me 30 minutes to pick out the bisque (because of her large selection) I wanted to paint, I then spent another 3 hours painting it.  What?  3 hours?  I know.

I decided to paint a large serving bowl, about 16″ round.  I thought it would have been easy to just slap on the paint, but there really is a method to it.  Don’t ask me why, but I decided to paint a little girly face in the center of the bowl.. and that took an hour itself because I had to work down in the base of the bowl with these tiny needle nose bottles of color.  The outside is painted with turquoise and then I dripped a dark purple around the edges so they would drip into the center.  I then added red dots along the bowls edge.

Here is a picture of my bowl.   I am very happy with it and my girls are loving their pieces also.

Sometimes it’s good to do something artistically different from the norm.  Especially if you have a bit of a creative block.  Shake things up a bit.

Thank you, Vaishali, for a fun and relaxing visit.

Thanks for stopping by.

Judy

Next up…. Buttons, Buttons, Buttons!

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

5 responses »

  1. Judy this is awesome and looks like so much fun. I wish we had a place like this around here to to what you are doing. Enjoy and have a great week.
    Cheers

  2. Good for you! I agree that it is a good idea to try a new artform once in a while. I used to do painted pottery for a living, and wrote a book called “A Glaze of Color” on techniques. I wonder if PYOP would be intereseted in my book or in workshops? A friend of mine just opened a PYO section in her pottery and gift shop. Can’t wait to see how it goes. Thanks for sharing, as always. Best, Jane

Let me know what you think about this post.

