Vacation, Family and New Canvas

Standard

Hi Blogsters:

I’m back from vacation.  I took two weeks off from work.  One at Cape Cod and one hanging out at home, doing some art, visiting family and friends.

I was able to finish up my latest canvas.  I have no name for it yet.  The picture is of my parents in the old country after their wedding, on their honeymoon.  I am so in love with the pictures I was able to get from my mother after my dad passed 9 years ago.  Here is a picture of the book I made.  Yes, that is my actual father in his real Middle Eastern attire.  He was such a handsome man.  Reminds me of Omar Sharif.  Do any of you remember the movie “Lawrence of Arabia”?.. or am I showing my age here?  Anyway, making this book was a great experience for two reasons.. one was that I got to relive my father’s life, which gave me so much comfort and two… I learned to design my own book with my own style.

P7230002You can see the rest of the book at my Web Albums here.

I presented this to my mom on her 80th birthday.     There is just something about these vintage pictures that hold so much in my heart because of my parent’s background and their journey to America.

OK.. somebody stop me.. I’m way off track here…. moving on…. sorry.

Here is my new canvas that was inspired by a DVD that I just purchased by Ann Baldwin called Mixed Media – Collage – Text & Texture in Mixed Media Collage with Ann Baldwin.  You can see a preview here.

I love the colors; so rich.  What I’ve used on this canvas includes.  Crackle paint around the picture, molding paste with stencils, corrugated cardboard, heavy gel medium, photo transfer of tree, magazine picture of door, polymer clay and layers upon layers of paints.

P7250001Here are some close up shots.

P7250004

P7250003

I hope you enjoyed this mini journey with me and I hope that Ann would be proud.. Thank you, Ann.

If you have any questions about the canvas or any techniques you’d like to know about, please leave a comment; I would be happy to contact you in return.  Or just leave me a hello comment anyway.. I’d love to hear back from you.

As always, thanks for stopping by.

8 responses »

  1. Hi Judy,

    What an amazing gift you created for your Mom’s birthday – so rich with spirit and meaning. It really shows how much you put your heart and soul into making it. I bet she loved it and was so proud of you and your lovely gift.

    The Ann Balwin DVD looked perfect for you. I know how much you enjoy creating a rich image full of texture and meaning. You must have found so much inspiration in her instruction. You have done her proud, too! mmmm, I especially love the crackle texture around the vintage photo.

    As always, fabulous work. Thanks so much for the inspiration, dear friend.

  2. Hi Judy,

    The new canvas looks great; it has a dreamy quality to it. I love seeing your love of mixed media expand and grow as you discover all these neat techniques. You’ve definitely found your niche!

    Oh, I just thought of a name for your canvas: Memories in Amber. I think the gold tones popped that one into my head.

    Lovely work.

    -Amy

  3. Thanks Karen and Amy: I do have a love for all of this, you’re right.
    Amy.. I like that title. My mom said the colors reminded her of being in Damascus, Syria. We “Art Dolls” should put on our own show. Wait a minute…..

  4. Judy,

    Your work is beautiful, you have a wonderful eye for color. So when are you going to brand this? The world needs to see your talent.

    You go Girl!!

  5. Great work, Judy !! I love your canvases, the colors and images are fantastic. It takes a special talent to use diverse media, photos, and found objects to create a unified piece. I don’t know how you do it. Whenever I try to make a mixed media piece, I ‘freeze’. The process is too open ended for me, and I get overwhelmed ! Last year I took a blank canvas and painted blocks of color on a diagonal, using masking tape strips as a guide. Then I covered the whole thing with white mulberry paper using gel medium as ‘glue’ so only the white fibers of the paper were showing. The effect was interesting, but that was as far as I got ! That painted canvas is still sitting in a corner of my dining room. Every once in a while I look at it, but draw a complete blank as to what I should do next. Making canes seems a lot easier for me !

  6. Thanks so much, Vicky and Dora.
    Dora.. that canvas sounds wonderful. I bet you could make something really amazing with that base you already started. Don’t think about it too much. Maybe slice a bunch of your canes in different directions and make an abstract with them.

  7. Judy, that’s a great idea about incorporating cane slices into the canvas..I did actually consider that at one point. Maybe I should just get my box of cane slices,play with them on the canvas…and not think too much.

  8. Judy. The book is breathtaking. What a wonderful tribute to your father & gift to your mother. Their story will be passed down through generations through your beautiful artwork.

Let me know what you think about this post.

