Oh, the things we find…

Standard

Hey blogsters…

Still cool and cloudy here in Massachusetts.  At least it stopped raining.  Pssst….secretly (well, not anymore).. I love the rain.  I love thunderstorms.  I don’t mind the cool weather.  I know, some people love the heat.  I hate it.  My husband says, “this is what we wait for all winter, it should be HOT in the summer”  Oh pish, I say!   Just being in my studio on a rainy day is nirvana to me… with spaghetti sauce simmering on the stove.. the smell.. oh ya…hold me back.

So… I was on my daily walk/run the other day and I found some objects (hence, “found objects) on the road and thought I’d share them some pictures with you.  What I’ll do with them, I don’t know yet, but somewhere in my art, they will be included.

Here, I found a crushed abalone ring.  I can see that in a textured canvas.  A cigar holder.. hmmm.. that can hold something… any thoughts???    Then, under my cherry tree in my garden, I found the broken robin’s egg.  I will incorporate that into some mixed media work for sure.  Some of the yolk was still in it too.  You can see some yellow left behind.

P6180017

Now, this is interesting.  The road I walk on was recently re-paved.  Somehow, this small branch of leaves was impressed into the pavement, but it was this off-white color… and I can’t figure out why.  I thought it would be paint, as if it were stamped into the road, but there was no other signs of paint anywhere; no lines in the road.  Then I thought that maybe the pollen and the rain settled on it and “melted” that way into the road.  I didn’t even think to touch it either to see if I could lift up the leaves.    Any thoughts?

However, I just loved it and when I got home, I jumped in the car with my camera and went to take some shots of it… (of course after one of my neighbors stopped by to ask what I was doing; he had a baffled look; don’t most guys look that way anyway??  Like when a dog tilts his head when you ask if he/she wants a treat?).   Anyway, I thought this could be a cool gel transfer on a dark background or print it on a transparency, then use it on a dark canvas or fabric.

P6060017

To you have any found objects/pictures that you can incorporate into you art?

Thanks for stopping by.

Judy

4 responses »

  1. Hi Judy,
    I just love the way you write. It makes me feel like we’re sitting down together all cozy with a cup of tea and you’re telling me a story and making me laugh. Anyway, what cool objects you’ve found on your walks. I’m especially intrigued with your impressed leaves. It looks like someone did that on purpose with some paint!
    A couple of weeks ago I found a small plastic pony on a walk in my neighborhood. Not knowing what I would do with it, I carefully placed him on the side of the road in the grass so he could watch the cars go by.

  2. Hi Judy,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and your lovely comments. I’m enjoying checking out your blog too. Love your work and saw your great how to page. Polymer clay is another thing I want to get into and love your work with that too. I’ll be back to check out more of your blog and work.

  3. Hi, Judy,

    Re: “this small branch of leaves was impressed into the pavement,…” – this was so interesting! It reminded me of how the roof of a car we used to have got imprints of falling leaves because it was parked under trees. I loved the way it looked, & it seemed to stay with the design still on it.

    Love your blog!

    (also love Karen’s comment: “A couple of weeks ago I found a small plastic pony on a walk in my neighborhood. Not knowing what I would do with it, I carefully placed him on the side of the road in the grass so he could watch the cars go by.”)

    On my kitchen windowsill, we put a kind of “duck” (from RedRoseTeabags) on a perch, & I like to turn him toward the window so he can see the backyard. H’mmm – are we crazy? Yes, and it’s so much fun!

  4. Hi Merillion.. thank you so much… I don’t know.. you think it was impressed into the pavement? That’s very cool if so.. why was it whiteish I wonder?? I love the pony from Karen and your duck.. adorable. Thanks for the visit. J

Let me know what you think about this post.

