The Little Canvas Project

Standard

I recently signed up for The Canvas Project.  You can read all about it here.  Basically, you are send 5  3″x3″ canvases with 5 random words that participants have submitted.  Each canvas has to be inspired by those words.  Talk about challenging your creativity.  They will be displayed in the Atlanta airport.  You have choice to sell them or not.  I do hope the take a picture of all of them and send it out.

My goal is to get them done before the end of May even though they are not due until early July, as my June’s schedule has left me literally no time for myself due to several family commitments.

As I stared at these blank canvases for a couple of weeks, I decided to just throw some backgrounds on them.  Here they are so far:

3x3canvasproject

Let me start by saying and as some of your know, I absolutely love texture.  Here’s what I did to them – They all received a coat of gesso.  Then I used a wash of paints on each one.  On the top 3 starting from the left.  I used a crackle paste, once dry, I sprayed walnut ink and rubbed off with dry cloth.  The next one I used a glass bead paste and let a wash of paint drip down.  Next, I used light molding paste pushed through and old plastic doily in the corner, once dry I rubbed on gold paint and then added purple ink from an ink pad all over it.  Bottom two:  Left – spread heavy molding paste around the edges, once dry, painted over with wash and used gold paint again to highlight the peaks.  Right – light molding paste pushed through stencil, painted paste once dry with purple paint and highlighted peaks with gold paint..also painted the background yellow, let dry, then painted with deep orange and sprayed water droplets and when almost dry, absorbed droplets with cloth to reveal background.  Each canvas was edged with gold paint.  As you can see on a few of them, they have white circles.  I took an ink pen cover and dipped in white paint and stamped the circle.

Now I must give my little pieces of art life with the inspired words.

I will post my final canvases in my next post.

Thanks for stopping by.

Judy

4 responses »

  1. Wow! Judy, those are stunning! You inspired me to try some, too. Maybe once I have some of your gorgeous background down on canvas, I’ll feel confident enough to paint something on them! Thanks for lighting a fire under me. You ROCK!

  2. Judy, these are fabulous! I just love the texture – it gives them so much depth and interest. The colors are so rich and the addition of the circles gives them an element of the moon/mystery. With a start like this, I can’t WAIT to see your final canvases!

  3. Thanks, Karen… they were fun… I just plowed right through them and trying not to think about it. I really do like how they came out.

Let me know what you think about this post.

