Swap-a-roos!

Standard

I’m not one to do any swaps. With my schedule, there isn’t much time to commit to.  However, there were two that came up recently that  just caught my interest.  One was for a charm swap.  The other for a “twinchie”.. read on.

Below, at the bottom of the photo, are the charms I made from polymer clay using push molds.  They are about 1 1/2″ each.   I loved trying to figure out what I was going to do to each one.  I used colored pencils and glitter glue.  The 2″ square piece on top was impressed with a rubber stamp and decorated with glitter glue; that was just for fun and has ended up at a magnet for the refrigerator.

p3230039

The set up for the 2nd swap:    This second piece I did was inspired by Ruth Rae.  One of her many talents besides jewelry designer is a mixed media fiber artist.  I had recently downloaded one of her mixed media workshops from Interweave.  I this workshop she shows the beautiful ways to layer fabric and other embellishments and sew them together.  I just fell in love with it, especially since I just developed a happy relationship with my sewing machine.

So………the piece below was created for Milliande, another creative, artistic  soul, who just celebrated her birthday.  She wanted to celebrate her special day with other artists by requesting 2″ square pieces of art called “twinchies”. The catch was that the twinchie had to be in natural shades of white.. in other words very neutral.  Here is what I sent her… and I threw in some other pieces of clay art to swap with her personally.. I can’t wait to see what I get back from her.  Here are Milliande’s YouTube videos… take a look.. she’s wonderful..

p3230042I layered ripped pieces of muslin, felt, lace, doilies and a music paper coated with resin and stitched all together.  Then I made a tiny polymer clay heart button and sewed that at the top.  I just loved the feel of this tiny piece of art in my hands.

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you enjoyed the visit.

Judy

One response »

  1. Hi Judy,
    Your charms came out great! So whimsical and colorful.
    That twinchie is really something special. It reminds me of a treasured family keepsake. I bet Milliande will just love it. What a beautiful piece to celebrate a birthday.
    Your creativity knows no bounds, my dear friend.

Let me know what you think about this post.

