Nina Pods

Standard

♥ this post is dedicated to my niece, Christina♥

when i began to sell some of my polymer clay pieces at two quaint stores in Massachusetts about two years ago, i came up with an idea to merge one of my clay designs with a young, aspiring writer’s talents.   that young writer is my godchild/niece, Christina.   i’ve had this special bond with her since she was born 30 years ago.    i wanted to create a pod-like piece (which became a series) that was mysterious to it’s owner;  a special story to go with it.    i asked nina to write a poem for our pod.  the “nina pod” was born and is now named after her.   just imagine being a very young girl and listening to the magical story about her little “nina pod”.    i know, as a young mother now, nina will read this to her own 3 year old daughter, riley; and believe me, riley will hang on to every word.

here is a picture of the “nina pods” and the poem she wrote.  deep inside the pod is the tiny dragonfly.  each pod came with the poem typed on a “vintage” scroll. it has been a hit with girls of all ages and has been given as baby gifts.

enjoy the story of the magical “nina pod”.

p7270017

The “Nina Pod”
Deep in the forest,
Where the stars shimmer in the night,
Lay peacefully sleeping, Nina the sprite.
But something awoke her,
A warm golden glow,
Which lighted a path
For her to follow.
With each gentle step,
Her discovery bloomed,
And within this magical flower,
She was consumed.
She picked one up,
And couldn’t believe her eyes,
For inside she found,
 a golden dragon fly.
Now she would like to share this treasure,
Though it may seem odd,
For it has been named for her –
the “Nina Pod”.
– Christina E. Smith

© 2009 Christina G. Smith

 

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

4 responses »

  1. I’m fortunate to own one of these adorable pods. They are even prettier in person. Thanks to Judy and Christina for collaberating on this!

  2. Judes, how touching! Those pods look great. I always loved the little golden edges. You did a great job with those. The poem was just the icing on the cake. If only I could have luck with publishing now, I need to try the forums you suggested.
    Thanks again! Your dedication is so appreciated!

    Oh, and thanks for your comment Raine! I do have fun writing poems!

  3. Hi Judy! This is just lovely. Wish i had one in yellow for my new great-granddaughter, Haley! Cute,cute idea! HUGS, Judy

Let me know what you think about this post.

