Finishing Art & Online Classes

Standard

hello again…well, what a week.. busy at work, home and just plain ole life.   don’t you just love fridays?  haven’t been up in my studio lately.  i guess i needed a break.   but now its time to change that.  my next goal is to finish some online classes that i started and have not finished.  and hello? thank goodness for online classes.  have any of you tried them?  they are sprouting up all over the place now.  for me, it started with Joggles offering on line workshops.  then artists like Paulette Insall, SuziBlu, Wyanne and Altered Diva offering mixed media classes also. there are others.  i definitely challenged myself.. but how else will we learn?  years ago all i did was polymer clay pieces and now i have evolved into this mixed media artist still using the clay in my work like the vintage buttons you see above in my blog header.   i have and am learning so much and have done things i thought i’d never do like draw, paint, wax (my art that is, not my legs.. ouchie).  it’s fun and you know what.. i am pleased with my pieces.  below is the final mixed media paintings from SuziBlu’s “Les Petite Dolls” workshop.  it’s created on birch wood… i just love creating backgrounds; no rules, no pressures, just fun.. take a look… i did this.. yes, me.. who knew?  enjoy your weekend and do something creARTive!

p92600042  

p92600022

 

 

this one above was a test before i did the bigger one on top

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

10 responses »

  1. Hi Judy, I enjoy reading your posts so much.

    Your paintings are beautiful – so full of color and energy and spirit!

    I agree – online classes are a great way to learn new techniques without having to travel. I took a Mixed Media Portrait class from Alma Stoller at Joggles last year. Your words are inspiring me to dig it out and finish it!

    Enjoy a creative weekend, dear friend. -Karen

  2. I’ve been thinking of forming a group for years… but never got to it… let me know if you go forward and if you need help with it…Judy

  3. Judy…the paintings are GORGEOUS! I’m so proud of you! Thanks for the shout out on your blog….that was really nice of you and I really appreciate it.

    Much love
    Wyanne

  4. Thank you, Wyanne… You are an amazing teacher. The work you put into your classes is second to none. I will post my “girls” too then they are done…

  5. Tammy.. thank you so much. I agree, the online classes can be addicting. Would love to see what you’ve done too. Thanks for visiting. Judy

  6. Judy, I am SO proud of you! You just jumped in with both feet and are turning out some wonderful pieces. Your “Les Petite Dolls” pieces are adorable.
    Raine

  7. Hi Judy,

    I love that painting! Is is so positively cheerful and vibrant! Very nicely done. Just wanted to pop over and say hello. You had left your blog address on my page over as Suzi Blue.

    Hope you have a beautiful evening and may all your fairy wishes be granted.

    xoxo
    ~Kitty Kellie
    The Artful Paper Doll

  8. Hi Kitty.. thank you for your kind words… That was a fun class. …And can I say how amazing your work is too? I just love your dolls.

Let me know what you think about this post.

