New Blog – Open House

Standard

here i am.. finally in the blogging world. i kept putting it off thinking maybe blogging wasn’t my thing. i guess i will find out.   do i have to be a writer?   can i put my thoughts down in this “journal” like my other blogger friends?   they seem to have this blogging thing down to a “t” .   i don’t write in a journal now; i’d like to but i don’t.  maybe this will help me just get my artistics thoughts down on “paper”.  i will try to blog every week and share my art with you. .. and maybe a recipe or two along the way.   i hope that you will like my art and you will share my blog with others.    i would love to hear from you.    so… here goes…..

i’ll start my first blog off with my recent project; a book i made for my niece who recently got married.  first, i have to say the the front and back metal embossed covers of the book were inspired by donna downey  http://donnadowney.typepad.com/;  thanks, donna!   from there it was gluing pages together, drilling holes, adding fabric, fibers, pictures, embellishments, you name it. i had such a great experience making this book.. i learned a lot along the way.    you can see another book i did as a tribute to my father’s life after he passed, on my website here http://www.judysheart.com/alter-collage.htm

so, i leave my first post with pictures for you of my niece’s love book. 

pc2100333 pc2100361

pc2100011

pc210003

If you would like to see the entire book, you can view it on my Picasa Web Album, here  http://picasaweb.google.com/judysheart/TaraJeremySJourneyBook?feat=directlink
 

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

9 responses »

  1. Hi Judy,

    Welcome to the blogosphere and congratulations on your first blog post. I’m sure your blog will be an inspiration to many as I know you’ve been an inspiration to me. Take your time, make it your own, and, most of all, have fun!

    Hugs,

    Amy

  2. Yay! You did it! I can’t get my blog going until I get a new scanner. That’s my story and I’m sticking with it!!! lol

    Great pix of Tara’s book. Great job!

    Raine

  3. Judy, Welcome to the blogging world! Congratulations on your very first post. Your heartfelt words, your beautiful photos – marvelous job, my dear. I know how much this means to you. I look forward to seeing your blog, your art and you evolve as you discover and delight in your passions. Sending hugs, Karen

  4. Congratulations on your new blog. I know you will be successful as you are very talented in many fields. I love Tara’s Book, it’s great that it can be shared with others outside the family. Kudos to embarking on this new adventure.

    Liz

  5. This is another way to show your awesome talents.
    Your family projects are just beautiful and will be heirlooms for all that receive them. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Judy, Judy Judy. Congratulations on creating your blog. I have watched you become more and more of a mixed media artist; it just seems to be you. And, you are so good at it.

    I look forward to reading your thoughts.
    {{{lotsahugs}}}
    Bobbie

  7. Thank you all for your great responses. I appreciate them all so much. I hope you all keep coming back to visit. If anyone has any ideas on what they’d like to see, let me know.

  8. You art is just awesome. This blog looks terrific, I love the burst of buttons when the page first pulls up. Tara’s book looks great online as well. Great job! You are truly talented and as someone else said on your blog, a true inspiration.
    Keep it up Judes!

  9. Nina, thank you so much. You inspire me also with your writing, creativity and your humor. My life would truly not be the same if you were not in it. In an upcoming post, I will show your fine talents also.

Let me know what you think about this post.

