Creating an “Artpron”

Standard

I know, I know.. where have I been, right?  I’ve been on an unplanned art hiatus, I guess. We all know how life gets in our creative way, at least for me. I’ve always said.. I can juggle 10 balls in the air, but not 11. Crash, boom, sizzle.

Right now the most important thing is I have a post and it’s a cute one.  Yay!!!

I said to myself.. “today, no matter what, I am going to do some art”.  Alone….. in my art bubble.

I bought this teal (surprise) apron from IKEA with the intention to make it my art apron.. my “artpron”.

Let’s get to it, shall we.

I also decided to paint outside in this beautiful weather.  I gathered all my supplies and went on the deck.

There are a lot of pictures, so hang in there with me.

IMG_4625    IMG_4627

Since I already loved the teal background color, my intention was to stencil and stamp all over it. I didn’t bother using fabric paint, since I figured I won’t wash it. I used basic acrylic paints, by the way.

But, I started with StencilGirl stencils.. then more of other stencils.. old fashioned doilies, rubber stamps. Well, I’ll let the pictures tell the story…..

IMG_4629 IMG_4630 IMG_4631 IMG_4632 IMG_4634 IMG_4635 IMG_4636 IMG_4637 IMG_4638 IMG_4642 IMG_4643 IMG_4648 IMG_4647 IMG_4644 IMG_4649 IMG_4650

Did you notice any of the StencilGirl stencils?  Let’s keep going…

IMG_4655 IMG_4656 IMG_4657 IMG_4658 IMG_4659

I have so much fun letting loose.  I was happy… here is the result….

IMG_4665

Love having you by my side for these posts.  Thanks for always responding and supporting me.

Can’t believe August is approaching us already.  Stay safe and wear your sunscreen. :)

Judy ♥  ♥

21 responses »

  1. Your artpron came out awesome! I didn’t know IKEA sold those. It’s a great size, too. You did such a great job decorating it!!!

  2. How fun this is, love it. I especially like the medallion at the center top. What a happy place it is to get back to creativity. I have to make a trip ro Ikea.

  3. What fun!….great result too. Now it wont matter if you get some paint on it.

  4. Not sure which I like better…that apron, the hand, or that beautiful smile of success on your face! Seriously, love the layering of the stencils, Judy! You must take this to Stamford and show it off! Mwah! Kay

  5. Love your ” artpron” ! And love StencilGirl stencils! You and your artpron are beautiful- glad you got a chance to some Art!

  6. What a wonderful apron! What a great way to make some art time for yourself.

  7. LOVE LOVE LOVE!! Arting outside is addictive in the best possible way- and you’ve made such a fun and playful apron! Looks like you got a touch of paint on your hands too!

  8. Hey Judy, A beautiful apron made even more beautiful in your artful hands. This apron really covers the body up, never seen one like it.

    You did a great job!

    Hope to see you soon when the “gang” gets together in August.
    Love,
    Bobbie

  9. Pingback: Wordpress Blogs - Wordpress Blogs .NET

  10. You sure do know how to have fun! And your resulting artwork is so creative. Great imagination!! Love following your awesome blog posts. See you soon???

  11. Looking good Judy, looking good. That’s a great apron, love the base color and how you enhanced it. Be careful now…you don’t want to get any paint on it…oh wait, right.

  12. wow wow wow – this is so beautiful. Love your colors and all the different elements in your composition. Can’t wait to see you sporting this in October! and the word “Artpron…” only you could think of something so perfect.

  13. OK… I see teal, red, oh, where is the gold…?
    What a sweet “artpron”.
    And you look like a happy “art camper”!!

  14. Awesome – I can feel all the good vibes that went into making this – looking forward to seeing you in October!

Let me know what you think about this post.

