In the studio…Playing with StencilGirl stencils

Standard

Seems as though I’m spending more time on Facebook lately than posting on my blog. I realize that many of you do not have a FB page, so I wanted to show a couple of things I’ve been playing with in my studio.  That is, when I have time away from my job. That’s a funny phrase to say out loud, because I don’t seem to have much of that in my life lately.  Ahhh, the woes of a full-time assistant trying to be creative and find time to make art. Remember that balance thing I’m striving for? Well, I continue to reach for it and all I can do is accept what it is and maybe I need to stop trying so hard and let it go.

We move on…

Playing with my Gelli Plate in my journal using stencils.  Lots of sprayed layers with fabric sprays (same ones I used in this post). Checkerboard duct tape on the bottom and some doodles to the sides. Love this depth effect. Stencil by Carolyn Dube.

IMG_4100

Doodling inside traced stencils with a black fine marker. Using Prisma colored pencils and watercolors. Bottom stencil by Michelle Ward.  Inspired by Michael Trent, new Creative Team Member of StencilGirl.

IMAG1178

More stencils using heavy gesso and spray inks. Then playing with colors in Picasa. Stencil by Mary Beth Shaw.

IMG_4152  IMG_4153

My favorite.  Playing with stencils in the background and making image transfers on top using old photos of my parents. Stencil by Carolyn Dube.

IMAG1167 IMAG1169 IMAG1158

Playing around with this photo in Picasa.

IMAG1165

Finally, I leave you with a photo I captured of a Snowy Owl just outside of our town at Plum Island. I had never seen an Owl in my life.  People come from all over to the sanctuary here for bird watching.  Some days it’s like a paparazzi with all the people and the cameras.  And, oh, by the way…. the Eagles have landed. No, seriously, the eagles (the bird, not the band), have migrated to Plum Island. I’m hoping to get some good photos of them; I’ll let you know how that goes.

IMG_4053

Just wanted to keep in touch with my peeps.  I’ll be back soon with another Blog Hop with StencilGirl.

Thanks for stopping by.  I love hearing from you.

Judy ♥ ♥ ♥  (Happy Valentine’s Day!)

15 responses »

  1. These are awesome, Judy! Did you use sprays on your Gelli plate? If so, did they stain it? I LOVE your doodling! I love how you doodled in Michelle’s stencil, too.

  2. Hi, Judy, I stumbled upon your blog through stencil girl and as I was looking through it, I noticed a reference to Plum Island. I used to live in Newburyport, on High Street, until five and a half years ago when I moved out to the Pacific Northwest. I have been to the nature reserve many times. Looks like you are having a rather cold winter. I am so glad to be where the climate is much more temperate! I am a collage/mixed media artist and used to show some pieces at the Art Association. Anyway, I just wanted to say hi and tell you I am enjoying checking out your blog.

    marilyn sandau

  3. Omgoodness! What super ideas! The colors and the doodling look really fun to do!
    But the ones with your parents are the BEST! I hope you can show us a play-by-play
    sometime on how you did those! Thanks for the share!

  4. I love seeing all your play Judy! Your image transfers, your doodling, your gelli printing- such fun play!! I’ve never seen an owl in person so I would be over the moon excited about taking that photo- and eagles too – you live in a great place!

  5. I love your photo transfer pieces, they are really marvelous….with the ghostly hints of the stencils behind. Glad you are finding a little time. I know how busy you have been. xox

  6. Beautiful, Judy! Your work is so recognizable for its colorful, vibrant spirit! I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying exploring the area around your new home. Great shot of the owl! Love ya, Karen

  7. So much vibrant color Judy! I really love those image transfers of your parents. I’m surprised you never caught sight of the great horned owls here – one used to hang out on top of Niki’s swing set. Of course it’s easier to hear them than see them. That snowy owl is so cool. Doesn’t he almost look like he knows people want to get a picture of him?

  8. I love those transfers! I am going to try to make my own geli plate as I can’t afford the real ones… we’ll see how it turns out! I have to say I love that snowy owl.. maybe she is Hedwig, Harry Potters snowy owl?! :D
    Hugs,
    Beth P

  9. Couldn’t remember if I commented but I love these. So beautiful (faces) and fun stencils and doodles. Love

  10. Judes I love your colors and stencils. You have come a long way from polymer clay!!! Beautiful pics of Sito. Gorgeous. Great job!!

Let me know what you think about this post.

