Blog Hop with StencilGirl Designer, Michelle Ward – Abstract Note Cards

Standard

StencilGirl LOGOStencilGirlImage

Welcome to another StencilGirl Blog Hop.

I’m always excited to do a blog hop for a few reasons.  One, is, it makes me get in my studio to create and stop working. Two, I get to share the spotlight with other amazing artists that I truly respect… and three.. ok ok.. I guess it was just two. No, I kid I kid. There are others, but you are here to hop and have fun, so let’s do that.

Today, I’m using StencilGirl Designer, Michelle Ward’s new stencil.   I’m using the 6″x6″ stencil called Intersections.  (Side note: I had the pleasure of meeting Michelle this year in Stamford, CT at Art is You and what a wonderful, down to earth person. Hi Michelle!)

WardS187-1

I am using this stencil as a STAMP, not in the traditional way of using it.   I decided to make my own abstract note cards.

Here are the blank cards laid out. Working on all of them at the same time, makes it easier to keep the colors and design consistent. (wow, my table surface is a mess, I think it’s time to make some art out of that too… sorry, sidetracked already).

IMG_4123

I recently got a hold of some Simply Paint fabric sprays.  I am not in love with these for a couple of reasons. The nozzle gets clogged up and you have to stick something sharp in to open it up and if you look at the nozzle while you are poking it, it may release and spray in your face. Can you guess how I know this? Right.  The paint drizzles once you stop spraying, thus leaving drips on your art. Now, you may like this sometimes, but not for delicate and exact purposes.  I will use them up in some journal pages and spraying through stencils onto paper and fabric. It leaves a nice flat finish.

I used the fabric spray to lay down the front area of the cards first.  I first spray blue, then green. For the envelope, I only sprayed the left side edge, so I could leave room for the address.

IMG_4102 IMG_4124 IMG_4125 IMG_4126 IMG_4128 IMG_4131 IMG_4132 IMG_4133

Now, it’s time for the “stamping” with the stencil.  I used masking tape to block out any of the stencil I did not want to use. Then with Ranger Distress Paint, using the color “Barn Door”, I dabbed the paint onto the stencil.  Flipped it over and placed in on the card and used a brayer to gently, but firmly roll the paint on the card.  Some areas of the lines are inconsistent, but I like that look.. messy abstract.

IMG_4134 IMG_4136 IMG_4137 IMG_4138 IMG_4139 IMG_4142 IMG_4143

I did the same thing with the edge of the envelopes. Then I took Ranger Distress Paint color “Picket Fence” and dabbed around the edge of a cardboard circle I had. You can also use a bottle cap or toilet paper roll.  I added some white circles to the card. I liked this white pop it gave to the design… and the same with the edge of the envelope.

IMG_4145 IMG_4146 IMG_4147 IMG_4148

Now, of course you know I had to add one of my “Button n’bellishments” to the card, so each one got a small heart.  How cute to send a card to someone on Valentine’s day. I stacked and wrapped them with some twine.  There are my cards ready to be addressed and mailed.

IMG_4149  IMG_4151

I’m so happy to be part of the art sister team below. Can’t wait to see what they do.

Judy Shea (yup, that’s me, on to Leslie next)

.. and now for give away info ….

There will be a giveaway on StencilGirl Talk for Michelle’s new stencils. All comments on any of the posts  are eligible for the giveaway. The more blogs you comment on, the more chances you have to win.
Giveaway will close on Friday, January 31st at 11:59PM Central Time.

As always, thanks for stopping by, for all your support and comments.

Judy ♥ ♥ ♥

105 responses »

  1. I love your simple elegant color palette. I looked at your buttons as well and just really enjoyed them. The little hearts are wonderful. It is clear that these stencils are great to play with.

  2. I liked seeing your process for creating four cards at once. I usually do creations one at a time so this would be a time savor. I enjoyed your color palate as well.

  3. I really like your use of color and the imperfection of the ‘stamp’. I’m inspired to try this technique on my Valentine cards! Thanks for the ideas, and the chance to win!

  4. Love the stamping method. The cards came out perfectly with that perfect touch of your clay hearts. xox

  5. Gracias por la inspiración, además de enseñar la técnica. Me gusta ver cómo cada persona utiliza los materiales, es tan diverso y tan inspirador a la vez…Felicidades.

  6. Enjoyed your tutorial for the cool abstract note cards. I like seeing all the different ways stencils can be used. Thanks for a chance to win some of Michelle’s awesome new designs :)

  7. Anyone would be lucky to receive such a beautiful card! You had me cracking up with the image of paint spraying up in your face! Why did you not post THAT picture???;)

  8. loveeeee your cards Judy. The colors – swoon. The composition – swoon. The buttons/bellishments – swoon. How great to use the stencil as a stamp. xoxo

  9. Translated Laura’s comment: Thanks for the inspiration, in addition to teaching the art. I like to see how each person uses the material is so diverse and so inspiring at the same time … Congratulations.

    Thank you, Laura!

  10. Wow! I LOVE these colors and the cards are stunning!! You amaze me, I think this is one of your best projects. Great idea with the stencil.

  11. Yeah, I’m with Kirsten, I want some video of that spraying, hehehe.
    Using the stencil as a stamps is genius! And this is a great color combo for V-day.

  12. Hope you don’t mind, I laughed out loud at the paint in the face part…thanks for starting my day with creativity and humor! I adore how you used the stencil as a stamp and how your cards turned out. The heart on it is the perfect touch!

  13. I’m so happy I have amused some folks with the spray in the face. I may have looked like a smurf after. No I kid I kid.

    Thank you all for your GREAT comments. Love.

  14. As a card maker I really enjoyed your post. thanks for the detailed instructions. I could do this technique in my workspace and not have to worry about making a big mess. I have some small stencils and I’m going to try making some of these cards. Again, thanks for the idea.

  15. Nice stencil choice (intersections) for note cards. Will check out StencilGirl for some background stencils. Getting into muted-colors backdrops for Zentangles. Keep on creating!!!

  16. These cards are either elegant simplicity or simple elegance, but, in my book, both are winners. The fact that you added your sweet heart personal embellishment makes them stunning, as well. Love this technique, Judy, and it certainly increases the value when considering the price of a stencil. A good use of that spray paint/make-up! ;-) Mwah! KayW

  17. Love the valentine cards you made with this stencil, very creative.
    Until later,
    Judy

  18. I love making cards, but yours are gorgeous! These stencils are so versatile… I must have them!

  19. Hi Judy! What a sweet card. You make it look so easy, and remind us how special it is to make Valentines. Clever girl, mono printing with the stencil. I’ve been in your place having many spray incidents myself. Grinning.

  20. Judy, I love how you used the stencils! Th red with the blue green is a favorite combo for me. The hearts give it a great pop/accent. Wonderful!

  21. Great idea. I love the painterly look of the results. Can’t wait to try it. Thanks.

  22. I really like the stamping method you used on your cards. NIce color combo as well. Thanks for the inspiration.

  23. Fabulous Technique. Please can you split your photo heavy posts in two so that I can read them on my phone without crashes.

  24. I love the way you’ve used the stencil as the brush. What a great idea. thank you so much. The cards are great. Love the colors.

  25. I am going to have to try this with some of my stencils!! I’m sure the recipients of the cards will cherish it! I loved the story of the dysfunctional spray can incident!!! Thank you for sharing your tutorial!

  26. what a great idea. i need to make something like this to have on hand when i need a gift.

  27. Last time I visited you on a blog hop I bought a bunch of stencils! You are a dangerous woman!

  28. love the idea of an envy for valentines. note to self: do not purchase spray fabric paint. thank you for your advice.

  29. Love it ALL! You & your MOM. SO smart to get her & your family recipes on video. OH…the stencil by Mary Beth Shaw & how you used them. MY DH would LOOSE it if I put clay through the pasta maker. His family tradition of making homemade meat ravioli for ALL holidays that we are teaching to our kids also. Gotta show him this. Can we share your video on FB? THANK you and your wonderful mother!

  30. OH MY GOSH,SO SORRY!!! The stencil was designed by Michelle Ward!!! AND THE BLOG HOP too.

  31. Thank you for such a great tutorial showing how you used Michelle’s new stamps. Everyone is creating something different with the stencils which makes this hop so much fun. Would love to win a set of Michelle’s new stencils. Thanks.

  32. Thanks for the new technique idea. The recipients of those cards are lucky1

  33. I frequently prefer the monoprint from the stencil itself. Knew I was not alone! Great work, Judy.

  34. Creative use of the stencil. And the note cards look great! Thanks for sharing.

  35. another new way to use stencils. I like the masking tip and especially the idea of using it like a stamp! Thanks for sharing

  36. I love blog hops as they are such a great way to find new inspiration and discover artists and products that you may not have been familiar with. Each artist has used the stencils so differently, your cards were so cute!

  37. Very cool Judy and I’m so glad that you’re getting some studio time. I’m not sure if this would work with fabric paint, but I’ve found with other spray things that storing them upside down keeps the from clogging (if they’ve got a flat topped cap).

  38. So cute!!!! Thanks for sharing and I love the idea of doing more then one at a time :)

  39. Such a great idea! I am loving all the new ways to use stencils I am learning from this blog hop….thank you!

  40. This blog hop is amazing. A stencil as a stamp – definitely outside the box thinking. Sometime we forget the possibilities in what we have – thanks for the push to see supplies from a different point of view.

  41. Stamping, embossing and card making got me here. Now I want to expand to art journals so your post was so up my alley, love it!

  42. Love your explanation about how you know the paint can spray in your face! Ah, we all have our mishaps while creating. Lovely cards :)

  43. Awesome. I love making cards and scrapbooking but find myself looking for more creative ways to make them. Recently tried some mixed media projects and now I’m hooked. Love the idea of
    making several cards at one time! TFS!

  44. I do believe I need that stencil now, Miss Judy Shea. Love this color combo and I bet everyone loved receiving your gorgeous cards. So happy to have a catch up on this chilly morning. Wishing you a fabulous weekend. TIme to make soup, I think!

  45. I can just imagine how delighted the card recipients were! These are beautiful! Thanks for the inspiration. I am loving this hop!

Let me know what you think about this post.

