Butternut Squash Soup

Standard

Time for some culinary art.

Any soup fans out there?  Well, this Fall, Panera Bread had a soup on there menu.  I believe it was called Autumn Squash Soup.  Let me tell you.. cuz you know I’m gonna anyway.  This soup was the best I have ever had.  If I could have licked the bowl and not looked like an idiot, I would have.  But, I digress.. I’ve heard it’s off the menu now. Very sad.  But, I’m happy again, cuz I made it myself.  I did some investigating on line and took some advice here and some there.  So, I put this concoction together and I must say, cuz you know I must.  It was fabulous.  Now, would I still play around with the tastes?  I may.  I think I would add a little coconut milk to it next time… cuz you know there will be a next time. The first time I made this, I roasted the squash.  The second time, I steamed it.  Here’s what I did.

Take one whole butternut squash.  Peel and clean and cut it into 2″ squares.  OR, you can get lucky and buy the ones already chopped for you.  So, you can either roast it in the oven or steam.  For this recipe, I steamed.

IMG_3945

In addition, you’ll need:

1/2 Cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk (this is where I would substitute Coconut Milk)
1 1/2 Cartons Chicken or Vegetable Broth (this can be varied, you can use less if you want a thicker soup).
1/2 medium sweet onion, chopped small
1 apple, peeled and chopped small (you can use whatever you want; I think mine was Gala)
Brown sugar to taste
Cinnamon and/or nutmeg to taste
Honey to taste
1 TBSP of healthy oil (olive/canola)

Steam the squash; mine took a good 30 minutes.

IMG_3954

Once the squash has steamed fully, put it aside in the steamer basket.  In that same pot, saute the onion and apple in the oil until tender. Then, add the squash to the pot. Add the broth and the almond milk and let this simmer about 30 minutes.

 IMG_3955 IMG_3957

Now it’s time to pull out your blender, or if you are one of the lucky ones, your immersion blender (much easier). I don’t have this, I used my old fashioned blender (I seriously got his for a wedding gift almost 30 years ago). Carefully ladle the hot squash mix into the blender, about 2-3 cups at a time and blend until smooth.  Put this in another pot or bowl until you blend the rest.

 IMG_3960 IMG_3962

Once you have finished blending, transfer it all back in the pot.  Now you can add your brown sugar and cinnamon.  I added a little bit of honey to sweeten it up a little.  This is where you can play with the flavors. Can you smell this? You can Google this recipe and find many variations. It was a lot simpler than I thought it would be.

I hope you try this and enjoy! Thanks for stopping by and for your support.

Judy ♥ ♥

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

12 responses »

  1. I love soup and the butternut squash soup from Paneras was so yummy I had it three times while visiting my daughter in MI. Sad Paneras took off menu :-( thanks for posting your version, look forward to trying it when the weather turns cooler.

  2. Smells good, but I like mine more savory, so I would add different spices….YOu can buy nice frozen whole butternut squash cubes now. I hate cutting them up because I always feel like I waste too much. xox

  3. Oh Judy – you’ve done it! I’ve been thinking about that soup for a couple of weeks now. Niki’s coming home to get the Christmas tree on Saturday & I think I’ll make a batch up for us. thanks for researching this – I know I can count on your recipes.

  4. Hey, Judy! This recipe is of special interest to us, as Russ is trying to concur Diabetes by diet and not have to go on meds. He is bringing his “numbers” in line beautifully, and one substitution in his diet has been almond milk to replace skim milk. We will definitely try this one! Keep ‘em comin’!

  5. I just had to come back over here to tell you that I made this for the family this weekend for after we got the tree. I was FABULOUS! Everyone really enjoyed it – Niki, Tim, of course myself and … are you ready? I even got John to try it and HE LIKED IT. Now how good is that?

Let me know what you think about this post.

