Sito’s Kitchen – Making bread with mom

Standard

I’m starting a series of cooking videos with my mom.  Both of my parents are from the Middle East.  Some of you know the story of how my dad went back to the old country to choose (yes, choose) a wife going from door to door.  When he brought my mom back to America, they started a family.  We had a busy household with my mom taking care of all 5 of the kids.  There are so many stories to be told about my parent’s life; especially with my mom coming to the USA, not knowing a word of English.

With all that said, I grew up with Sryian food and watching my mom make amazing food to not only feed the 7 of us in the family, but cousins, aunts and uncles.  Every holiday was at our house.  After I got married, I started to try to make a few of my mom’s recipes, but they never came out good.  Practice makes perfect.   So, as the years went on I kept on cooking and eventually, it all made sense.  Now, needless to say, nothing ever tastes like my mom’s food.  I don’t know what it is.  I guess there is a lot of pinches of love in it.

I thought it would be fun to cook with my mom and share it with you.

In our first premier episode, we are making a bread we call “Cleecha”.  This is compared to a bagel.  I started eating these when I was very young and my mom tells me that I used to eat them with my coffee at 2 years old. Yup.. that’s when I started drinking coffee.   AND.. I still dip them in my coffee after all these years.  The only way, in my opinion.

I hope you enjoy this episode.

Thanks for stopping by.  I love hearing from you and appreciate ALL the comments.  I read them all.

Judy ♥♥

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

27 responses »

  1. Hi Sito! You both did such a fantastic job on the video and those cleecha. I wish I had a few right now. I can’t wait to see more of these videos (Judy this is something that Megan and Rachel will be able to treasure). What’s with Dixie’s random cameo appearances? By the way, as I played the video, Lola woke up and came over to stare at the screen. Then she went over to the front door to see if you were there. You’ve got her all confused but she misses you.

  2. The video is great and your mom is so cute!Thanks for sharing such a wonderful part of who you are. Well done!

  3. How adorable are you two??!! I love seeing Sito in action – please tell her I might need her for the first round though. These look amazing…wish I was sipping my coffee now with a bite. You guys should be on food network!! So glad Dixie made a guest appearance too! Can’t wait to try these….thanks for sharing!!! xo

  4. You made this look so easy! I am definitely going to give this a go! If it’s got cinnamon, it must be good.

  5. I didn’t expect to enjoy this as much as I did…cuz you know me and cooking. But I LOVED it!!! Your mother is so cute and looked so relaxed in front of the camera. You did a fabulous job explaining everything. I wish there was smell-o-vision, too! I can only imagine that the smell of the combination of spices and yeast must have been heavenly!
    I will be watching ALL of your cooking episodes as well as your art vids. This really made my day!

  6. This is just wonderful! Thank you thank you! Happy to meet you Sito! Love how you are both wearing blue too… Watching her knead that dough, I see where you get your love of polymer clay. Guess your love of kneading and poking started with Sito :)

  7. Judy, what a sweet and yummy video. I don’t cook but now I want to make these. Your mom is so cute and I guess she is why you have a food blog. Yum

  8. Your mom looks tiny like my mom. I love the way those hand fold and knead the dough. I used to make walnut bread and another ethnic bread that had yeast in it but, since my mom passed, I just don’t make them like I have done in the past.
    Both kids are grown and gone with kids of their own and have their own foods that they like to make for the holidays.
    Looking forward to more cooking from you and Sito.
    Barb
    N C

  9. I’m in love with your mom. And I love learn about other cultures and other foods. Thanks for sharing!

  10. You and Kay are the lucky ones that I made some for.

    Everyone, thank you all so much for your kind and thoughtful comments. They mean the world to me and I can’t wait to tell Sito.
    Judy

  11. Since I have tasted Cleecha ala Judy, I can attest to its goodness. And, yes, my friend, mine went into coffee, too! Thanks for sharing not only this recipe, but a bit of your Mom, who is adorable!

  12. How fun and how cute your mom is! Oh, this moment will last a lifetime
    for you and your family! Very smart move to make these vids.

  13. So, Judy Bita!! Love this video. You are so blessed to have Sito with you to share her wonderful recipes. Thanks for sharing!! love you!

  14. Ii enjoyed watching your video so much.i would love to know how to make sito’s tabuli it;s the best i;ve ever had.thank you!!!!

  15. I love this idea Judy! My Mother passed away in 2010 and I remember most of her recipes and she had written many of them down and kept them in her recipe boxes and tins in the kitchen but I really wish I would have done videos as you are so wisely doing. Hugs to both you and your precious Mother! Wishing you and your Mother many healthy and happy years together. ♥

  16. This video was just so darn cute with your little MOM. I love how you insert comments, they make me laugh. You are so lucky to be able to share her kitchen and her knowledge of cooking. You make it look so easy! I’ve NEVER made anything that requires yeast! I know, LAMO. I wish you had smell-o-vision too! Say Hi to Sito for me.

  17. Hi Judy, This video brings back memories. My mom and your mom in the kitchen at 1011 Main.

    I just loved it. Thank you, Auntie Alice

  18. Hi Sito and Judy, So glad Joannie sent me this video. Now I know how to bake Cleecha. I may try it when I have more time or not. I’ll just ask Joannie to bring me one. She makes delicious Cleecha. Born actresses. I will be watching for the next video. Stay well and safe. Love to you both and the entire family. Kassie, From Smithsburg, Maryland

  19. Bravo! Hollywood will be calling for sure. Queen Sito, perfect kneeding. Very creative and invaluable archives, Thank-you for sharing trade secrets!

  20. Judy, I just loved watching this and seeing you and your mom interact. Such a treasure to have this video for your family to enjoy for years and years to come.

  21. Hello Sito and Judy. What a wonderful wonderful video .Oh I wish I had a cleecha right now with some hot coffee. Heaven! hummm. I loved it. This video Is p’riceless and beautiful. Nothing like mom’s cooking and Sito’s too! How I miss mine. She would always cook my favorites when I visit her. Thank you so much for sharing. I may just try baking some Cleechas soon. Take care!

  22. Thanks Judy! I am going to make the chicken chili today, because it is cool in Miami this weekend. We are running our central heat! I loved the video with your sweet mom. I want to make the bread also soon. Thanks for sharing your creativity, and explaining how to use Tyvek.

Let me know what you think about this post.

