StencilGirl Blog Hop

Standard

Hey, it’s Judy again with another blog hop using StencilGirl’s stencil designed by Cecilia Swatton.  I’m joined by other snazzy artists, that you can follow below.  I’ll send you hopping in one minute.

Today I am using Cecilia’s “Ferns 6″ stencil.

FernSTencil

This time, I didn’t pull out the polymer clay.  It was my intention.   I had it somewhat planned, but this went another way, that surprised even me.  Imagine that?  Yup… did.  So, I’ll save that plan for another stencil.

My husband made me a very simple, nothing fancy, shelving unit that goes to the back of my art table.  I wanted to have what I use a lot at my fingertips.  I decided it needed a little decor on it.  So I took my fat sharpie and put black stripes on the sides.  Then I took some rubber stamps and stamped in black on the front of the shelves.  To give it some color, I rubbed Distress Ink pad colors over the stamped images.

IMG_3761  IMG_3763

IMG_3762

Next, I took my favorite color (everyone now)… “COBALT TEAL”. and painted the sides quickly, not really trying to be perfect. After all, who is?  Ok ok.. the big guy up there… you know…. at least that’s what my mom tells me.  Off track.. sorry.

IMG_3764

Now, this is where the stencil comes in.  I wanted to decorate it further.  I decided to stencil it.  Using white acrylic paint and a cosmetic sponge, I pounced the white into the taped on stencil.

IMG_3765 IMG_3766 IMG_3767 IMG_3768

Once the stencil dried, I rubbed a brown glaze paint on it, by Golden.  I wanted to stain it lightly to take away the stark white.

IMG_3773 IMG_3774

IMG_3775 IMG_3776 IMG_3778  IMG_3777

… and just for fun, I added an old lace place mat that I cut in half to look like a curtain valance.  Cute, huh?

IMG_3772

Thanks for sticking around, but don’t go yet.  I have 7 other fabulous artists joining me in this hop. Check them out below.

Judy Shea  (thanks for being here)
Nope, not yet.. I have to tell you about the giveaway.. StencilGirl will be having a give away and EVERY COMMENT you make on all the blog you hop to are eligible to win.  The more blog’s  you comment on, the more chances to WIN! The giveaway will close on Sunday, October 27th at 11:59PM Central Time.
Ok.. now you can go.
As always, thank you for stopping by and visiting.  I love hearing from you.
Judy ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
53 responses »

  1. The fern stencil is just the icing on the cake with your new shelves. Am so enjoying seeing everyone’s different techniques.

  2. What a fun way to decorate your display shelf! Your hubby is a keeper for this one!

  3. Love this! I have an old IKEA wooden drawer unit sitting on my craft table that I painted years ago, but it’s not my style anymore. Been thinking about painting it over, but didn’t know what I wanted, so keep putting it off. Now I know! Thanks for the idea!

  4. Can you please come to my house and do something gorgeous like that? That shelf looks amazing! Love it!

  5. LOVELOVELOVELOVELOVE how you decorated your storage case! I have a armoire in my craft room that I have been trying to decide what to do with and NOW I KNOW! I am going to have to wait till I have more stencils to start it because I have just gotten addicted to them and don’t have many YET! I am so in love with all of the stencils I have seen on this hop! Cecelia’s stencils ROCK!!! Would love to be able to add them to my collection by winning them. That way I can get started sooner than later!! I am learning that the possibilities are endless with stencils and can’t wait to learn even more ways to use them! Thanks for sharing your awesome project and inspiring me!

  6. Superb idea for this stencil!
    It worked out really well.
    I must get my husband to look at this page :-)
    Great storage idea xx xx

  7. Pure genius, Judy! But, you did have me worried when I read “brown glaze!” I couldn’t help by think, “What are you thinking, Judy??!!” I was picturing something way darker. The end result is perfection in my book! Sweet hubby, too!

  8. Hi Judy! I love the shelving unit your hubby made! Very nice. It stores quite a bit of stuff! You did a great job decorating it. I love the lace valance, too. Pretty!

  9. first, i love your husband for making u the shelf, i have been begging for one for over a year, i just love how u decorated with the stencils, gorgeous! i will share this post with my husband, u never know, i might get lucky! haha. aloha, angi in hana

  10. Now that is a way to store your supplies! How awesome that you stenciled and jazzed it up to make it totally Judy’s!! Hubby did a great job building it too! Wanna come and paint my furniture?

  11. Love your storage! I need all the help I can get!! Seriously, I really like your project. I’m a stencil junkie and would love to win!

  12. Wonderful decorating ideas in that shelving unit. Hubby did a great job. thanks for the chance to win.

  13. Gotta give credit to your hubby….great art supply shelving! Judy, I would have never thought about using the stencil and stamps on the shelf like you did! It’s totally an original …and totally fabulous !!!! Enjoy it sweet lady! :)

  14. And those ferns….. wow! I think it would look perfect in my scraproom! lol Maybe thats what I need to do with the old spice racks I pick up at the thrift store for my paints and mists and things.
    Thanks so much for sharing and a chance to win!

  15. Gorgeous project, and great storage. I am loving turquoise or teal with red at the moment and I am not usually a red user but looking at your shelves I can see the back wall in glorious red lol.

  16. I really like the idea of using wood as the base for this fern stencil.Its fun to jazz up something we already have.

  17. You are a lucky, lucky woman to have a husband who will make you shelves for your art supplies! And you decorated it so beautifully…great use of the stencil!

  18. Love the shelving unit Judy! I saw the stripes and knew we were kindred spirits. I have a sharpie stripe fetish and can’t quit “striping” things. The fern stencil looks so lovely and aged to perfection with the glaze. Your studio just got happier with this lovely new addition!

    Amy*

  19. How’d I miss this one!?!?! It’s absolutely fantastic and you definitely win a prize for largest piece of stenciling yet. Your shelves are fabulous!!

Let me know what you think about this post.

