Coming up for air.. finally.

Standard

Breathing now and glad to be back.

Well, most of you that follow me know that I have been absent because I just moved.  Yes, moved and settling now.  I guess you could say I’m building a new nest.   I know my limits.  So, commitments to my art and projects had to take a back seat for a few months.  Thanks to those who understood what my priorities had to be and not over-commit myself.  It gave me the breathing space I needed to complete my moving process.

Ok… Can we talk?   If you ever decide to move, months and months before you do so.. you must purge.  As a matter of fact, purge your junk and donate now as if you were moving in one month.  There are many many companies that will now come to your home and pick up your donations.   Especially, if you are like me, moving from a big home to a half the size condo?  A challenge, indeed, my friends, a challenge, indeed.  Well, I’ll just say, we did A LOT of donating.   I swear I filled up my SUV about 10 times.  I gave some clothes away to friends and family and even some of my home decor.  However, it was time to downsize and get away from the big house, big yard, big this, big that.  23 years is enough, I’d say.

So, fast forward to now… we are settling into our new home, adjusting to a bit of city life (coming from the country) and my studio is about 95% complete.  It’s complete enough for me to start creating again.  It’s been quite a journey not being able to have a studio with all my supplies packed up for months.  I feel like I may be a bit rusty, but I’m up for a new challenge.   Where the heck do I begin?  What should I create first?  Hey, how much harder can it get?  If you can survive months and waves of stress and emotion and not kill your husband in the process, you can do anything, right?  Give me a “hell ya”.

Thank you all for not giving up on me, being patient during my absence and now…. stay tuned for more blog posts, some blog hops and giveaways.

Thanks for stopping by.

Judy ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

15 responses »

  1. Woo Hoo – I see some art time in your future! And selfishly that means I get to see your art (which I adore!). Congrats for being able to set boundaries and taking care of you!

  2. I’m glad to hear you are settling in nicely. Yay, for getting most of your studio ready. Just fling some paint and glitter around and see what you end up with! ;-) Sometimes just sitting in your studio with all of your stuff around you can get the juices flowing. I’ve found that happens to me.
    Welcome back to Bloglandia!

  3. Congratulations! Turn the page…… a new chapter…..life’s journey…..etc etc. THE move is, by far, the most stressful part of it all.

    Now it’s time to play. Can’t wait to see your upcoming creations!

    Hugs,
    Tricia

  4. Hello…. Is this the Queen of Turquoise,Red and Gold?
    Wow! It is! Great to hear from you again!
    Missed your talents, glad you’re back!

  5. Moving, I shudder at the thought. I used to live like a gypsy moving constantly. Now I can’t imagine with all the stuff. I’m glad you took the time and hope your new place brings you joy and more time for art.

  6. I’ll give ya a ‘hell ya’ although I might have bruised but not killed my husband. We miss you, we want you back over there but I still think you made a great decision and can’t wait to visit up there. That town and the ocean is going to inspire you for sure.

  7. I will give you one “HELL, YEAH!” and raise you two more! What you have just accomplished has earned you much creative time. When I am in my studio and just can’t figure out where to even begin, I think of this Rumi quote: “The inspiration you seek is already within you. Be silent and listen.” I can’t wait to sit down to dinner with you and Corrine and our supportive hubs! Welcome to the neighborhood, my friend!! Mwah!

  8. Hi Judy, I’m SO glad to hear that all of the challenging work is behind you and you can settle in and create! Enjoy your new space! Hugs, Karen

  9. Hi Judy – look forward to seeing what you produce in your new environment. Very much appreciate you stopping by my blog and leaving such a lovely comment about my indian wall-hanging. Hope you have a chance to create this weekend

  10. Hell ya! Hells Bells, you deserve a medal for your self-control in not killing him or anyone else. Can’t wait to see your inky painty hands in action.

Let me know what you think about this post.

