Cape Cod Journal Pages and What’s Up

Standard

Hi Friends… I know it’s been a bit since I’ve posted any art.

Here is a quick run down of my life right now… I’m moving. We’ve been in our big house in the woods for 23 years and it’s time to move on. We are downsizing to a condo.  They say that moving is one of the most stressful things you can go through, next to divorce and death… it’s TRUE.   It’s been so emotional.. up and down.  I admit, I’m not good at taking care of MYSELF while I’m focused on other things.  Not good at all.

So, here I am juggling my full-time job and trying to get the house ready to be taken by another family, while we are preparing our condo for our new lives.  Talk about up and down emotions… and can you say “PURGE”?  Say it with me  – PURGE – and commit to doing that even if you are not moving. If I have learned anything from this, it’s to not keep things around that you don’t need or use.   We’ve donated SO much; what a great feeling.  I believe in paying it forward. Give to the ones that need it more than me.  I have not bought any art supplies for over a year now.  I think I have some making up to do, don’t you think?

And.. focus..who can focus on anything else.  Even my cooking has been put on the back burner.. ha pun intended.  How do you not cook a lot and stay healthy?  Lot’s of salads and fruit.  Some things have got to give and, unfortunately, one is my art.  I’ve had to put that on the back burner for a little bit until we get settled in our new place and my art studio is set up. Try to get back to a normal life again.  My art sisters have been most supportive of me as I sit a bit more quiet in the art world.. but don’t you fret my pets.. I’ll be back soon.. very soon.  OK.. got that off my chest.. thanks for listening.

I was able to do a little art; read on.

Before I left on vacation last week, I grabbed a small art bag.  My supplies are put away until we move, so I had to accept what was in my bag.  I was able to take one day to play in a few pages.  It felt so good.  Yay for me.

So, the limited supplies I had were a journal, Koi watercolor paints, a few acrylic paints, one rubber stamp, small jar a gel medium and paint brushes (my one regret is I didn’t grab a stencil.. a StencilGirl stencil that is).

I had no idea what I wanted to do so I just dragged some paint down on a page from the top… I used a cardboard coffee cup holder I found. Improvise, Judy.

First, let me apologize for an blurry photos.. I was using my cell phone to capture the steps.

IMAG0677 IMAG0678

I put more acrylic paint on top of the dragged paint and put some plastic wrap over, then pulled it off to give it texture.

IMAG0680  IMAG0681  IMAG0683

Then I “drew” a big face on the page, but I did not like.. so I went over that with some yarn labels my mom gave me,  then went over that with red paint.  Again.. no plans.. just feeling free with creativity.

IMAG0684  IMAG0686 IMAG0687

On the teal page, I love to make red marks with an edge of a card, in this case the coffee cup holder.

IMAG0689  IMAG0690

Used the inside of a take out box for a palette for my paint; it was lined with plastic. Again.. what I had.  Then I had a water bottle cap and used it to make circles.  Used black paint and my one rubber stamp to make more markings.

IMAG0692 IMAG0694 IMAG0696

As some of you know, I’ve used paper towels in the past in my art and we had them so I used them again.  Why not. I let them sit in the wet water color palette and smooshed it up to make some nice colors.

IMAG0702  IMAG0704  IMAG0708

I took the paper towel and ripped in long strips and rolled them with gel medium in my finger to make stems for flowers.

I took clean paper towels and made more strips to roll with gel medium to keep them together and make spirals for the flowers. (sorry no pics on that).  I then painted the “flowers” with red paint.

I went outside and found a small branch with leaves and used those leaves for the leaves of my paper towel flowers. I adhered them with gel medium.  Then I took white a paint and made petals around the flowers.

IMAG0710 IMAG0711 IMAG0713

and there you go.. one side of the journal….

IMAG0718

.. the other side (I found a couple of magazine photos to use on this page.. buddah and sunflower).

IMAG0733

Well, that my first day in months of doing art.  It was definitely art therapy to get away from the house for a few days.

Thanks for hanging in with me as I go through this chapter in my life.  What would I do without you?

Judy ♥ 

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

14 responses »

  1. Good job! I know how hard it is to want to art but not have access to your favorite supplies. I’m glad you were able to play a bit.
    Congrats on the new condo. Moving really IS stressful! I’ve done it more times than I care to count. It’s very freeing to get rid of stuff that no longer serves you. I’m sure your new studio in your new place will be peaceful and a real refuge for you. You deserve it.

  2. Yea! Judy’s back! missed you and your art! Glad to see your great pictures! Super-Duper!
    I’ve been using real leaves just a bit this week.

  3. Glad to see that you got to have some art play time on your getaway, Judy! Beautiful creations blossomed from what you had on hand. Hang in there – when all is said and done, it’s going to be AWESOME. Just like you. :)

  4. Lovin’ your flower-rose creations. Interesting how it all comes together. I have never tried these mixed-media techniques, and I’m always surprised at the results. And have not the slightest clue about….. a gelli plate? gelli print? (gelli roll, yes!)

    Where are you moving to? Sounds like you are very organized in your pack-up. If I had only one suggestion, it is to “label each box with the contents”! (that was such a big help when we finally sat down and viewed the river of boxes in our new place and we went looking for something….. very….. specific…..!)

    And those last few days of packing (when ya thought you just_could_not_pack_even_one_more_ box!), LABEL, label, label. lol

    Hang in there, my friend! And take time to smell the roses.

  5. Judy, my friend, you need to take care of YOU! I am so happy that you took with your little art bag and created! I love each every picture!

  6. So glad that you were able to take a bit of vacation from your moving process, and especially so that your vacation spot was near your daughter! That you also had managed to save out a few art supplies and take them with you is just wonderful. And, my friend, you created something wonderful! Everyone has already said all the right things about this project, but there is one thing left unsaid! You may have covered up that beautiful woman who, to me, looked much like you with her beautiful lips that always form the best smiles, and those gorgeous curly locks! But, still, it is ok that you covered her up…because she is still there…a part of this artful project! Her warmth and her energy and her beauty and her perseverance show through! Mwah!

  7. Oh Judy, I can’t even think of how stressful this move has to be for you, especially where you’ve been over there for so long. But you’re so right about the purging – even if you’re not moving, getting rid of clutter just makes things feel so clean & I don’t know, fresh. I just have to do mine faster but at least I’m taking baby steps thanks to your motivation.
    It was good that you could get away for a bit & also so good to get some of those stress bugs out of your system with your art. Having something like that, that you love doing & get so much enjoyment from is such good therapy. And just think of how you’ll be able to set up your new art studio just the way you want it & in such a beautiful & creative town.

  8. Judy, I think you have found creativity amongst one of life’s great challenges. Moreso with limited materials which really focuses the muse. Great journal pages you created. Sometimes the most “free” art we create is that made when we work intuitively and let go of all the stuff in our heads.

  9. Seriously!?!? Gorgeous!!! OMG did you feel like a rock star artist soaking that yummy colorful paper towel and twirling it into your stems? I am so sorry you are so long w/o your supplies but SO glad you were able to do this. And if you ever need an ostrich moment (head-in-the-sand, we aren’t really dealing with all this moving stuff, kind of thought), make a road trip and come play with me!

Let me know what you think about this post.

