Blizzard of 2013 & Chicken Sausage Veggie Soup

Standard

Blizzard… opening the garage door…

IMG_3182 IMG_3184

This is going to take a while…. nuff said.

IMG_3189

Let’s make some soup, shall we?  Let’s call it “Blizzard Soup”.

IMG_3179

I can’t think of a better day to stay inside during the Blizzard of 2013 and create some culinary art for a change.  I’ve been due to post a recipe and this took me about 20 minutes to make.. no kidding.  Plus, feeling a bit under the weather, so soup is perfect.

Now, for those that know me, I do not measure much, especially in cooking… Baking, well, that’s a science and I don’t do much scratch baking.  Well, if you consider scratching your…. well, never mind… what? I meant my head.

So, this starts out real simple.  I had this in my fridge:  winter squash, zucchini, chopped kale, onions, cabbage and celery.  In my freezer, I had a 1/2 bag of frozen mixed veggies that included corn, carrots, peas and green beans.  Repeat after me… “frozen veggies are my friend”.

In a large pot, put in 2 tablespoons of Olive Oil. Now saute…

1/2 of medium onion, chopped small
1/2 of the winter squash and zucchini, chopped small
2 medium size stalks of celery, chopped small

… for about 10 minutes until onion is transparent.

Defrost your frozen veggies in the microwave, then add them to the pot. Stir.

For spices, I just put in to taste:  salt, pepper and granulated garlic.  Whatever you want.. it’s your world.

Then add:

About 1 cup of chopped cabbage
About 2 cups of the fresh chopped kale (I bought mine already chopped and in a bag).

Stir all this together and incorporate; you’ll see the cabbage and kale get soft.

In the meantime, I defrosted the Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage and squeezed the meat out of its casing and cooked that in a frying pan until fully cooked.  Put aside.

Once the cabbage and kale are cooked down, (but not too much, you want it to stand up to the broth.  This is why kale is a good choice, as it’s stronger than spinach and doesn’t wilt as much)…. I added…

1 – 32 oz carton of Fat Free, Low Sodium Chicken Broth to the pot.  Add as much as you like.

Add the sausage (you can keep it all vegetarian if you want by eliminating the sausage and using vegetable broth instead).

Get it nice and hot and …………Badda Bing.. Badda Boom.  Done!

Add some grated romano cheese if you want and or serve with a nice piece of crusty bread.  Yum!

So, say you didn’t want to get into the sautéing and all that.  In a microwave safe bowl, defrost as much frozen veggies as you want and add enough broth to make a soup, heat and ….Bam.. done! Add some leftover pasta or rice to it, maybe… Bam.. done!  You get the idea, folks.  Easy peasy. It’s your world.. rock it!  ENJOY!

If you are in my neck of the woods, I hope you are safe from the storm. We managed to keep our power.. Amazing!  Pray that the ones without power will get it back soon.. Especially, the elderly and the ones with little kids.  Such as my nephew in Sandwich, MA with two little ones.

I hope you enjoyed this recipe and post.  I would love to hear from you.

Thanks for stopping by.

Judy 

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

15 responses »

  1. Oh Judy- that is a lot of snow!!! Your soup is so pretty- love the pop of carrot orange! And it seems doable for me, the kitchen challenged. I need forgiving recipes that don’t require much measuring and the fewer the dishes to clean the better. Your soup seems like right up my alley! Hope you feel better!

  2. That is soooo much snow. This recipe sounds great. I am not much of a soup eater but, my husband enjoys it and I will have to give it a try. We have not had much cold weather here in Charlotte so I will have to wait for a colder day and that could be next year. lol Everything is blooming and everyones’ allergies and sinuses are going crazy.
    I hope you are able to get out in a few days. It is amazing how much snow has fallen in the entire northeast.
    Barb
    NC

  3. Looks great Judy. I’ve got a pot of chicken noodle simmering in the crock pot – homemade noodles from yesterday. Looks like pretty much everyone’s go their driveway’s done & I heard they just lifted the ban on driving. Got to love electricity!

  4. What a storm, Diane. Amazing that our power did say on.. but we were ready. Maybe that’s why. Hmmm. Did you make homemades? I ain’t going anywhere anyway.

  5. Barb.. hard to imagine that you have Spring now. Very nice. I’m definitely living in the wrong part of the country. Hubbie will enjoy the soup, even it’s a cool day.

  6. Homemade noodles? Yes I did. I used them in the Giada recipe – chicken w/mustard & marscapone last night & put them in the soup for tonight.
    No way am I going out there either.

  7. I made smoked garlic chicken soup two days ago in prep, we were on the same wavelength.. Glad it’s over….the Superhero plowed all night, I shoveled 4 ft of snow from the bunny yard….and now I am going to pour a really big glass of wine. xox

  8. Well, the soup looks very,very good. I really like kale.
    (lived in FL all my life, I have NO idea about snow)….

  9. Your soup looks delicious, Judy, and just the thing to warm up with after snowblowing/shoveling. And thanks for mentioning a veggie version. Hope you feel better and stay warm!

  10. All I can say is this looks YUMMY!!! So much snow–so sorry–glad you were safe and had power.

Let me know what you think about this post.

