Faces Inspired by Artist, Michael Lang

Standard

I came across Michael about a year ago on YouTube.  I was fascinated. You will see what I mean if you take a look at this video.  If you don’t have time in your day, just watch the beginning, skip to the middle and then the end. You just won’t believe the end result.   He mixes a small amount of acrylic medium with his acrylic paints to make the colors just flow, blend and shade.  If you have time, watch some of his other videos.  Amazing!

So, I sat myself down to play with some faces, Michael inspired.  I did not use his method of mixing the paint and gel medium.  I used watercolor paints in a Moleskine watercolor journal. Whatchya think?

Watercolor Face1      Watercolor Face2

It’s really freeing when you don’t have to make a mouth, eyes or lips perfect.  I loved using crazy, bright colors on the facial features.  Portrait rules are out the window.  Thank you, Michael.

Hope you enjoyed this fun little escape from the norm.

Thank you for stopping by; I’d love to hear from you.

Judy 

17 responses »

  1. Wow – these are so cool. Love your colors and the droopiness – reminds me of things I saw in my teen years while — oh nevermind. I’m always challenged trying to draw faces so I’m definitely going to watch this video and give it a try. Thanks!!

  2. I love how you did your faces! The bold colors give them such personality! I haven’t had time to watch it yet- but as soon as I get some work cleared off my desk I am going to watch the whole thing!

  3. Wonderful colors. You have much talent! (love your turquoise… you made me a believer of turquoise,red and gold some months ago)!!

  4. Oh fascinating, I can see you interpreting these in clay too! Would be fascinating to paint the clay as well!!!! So good to play yesterday! xox

  5. Thanks for sharing about his art–wonderful. But….I think yours turned out pretty darn wonderful!!!! Bold, colorful and full of style!

  6. I actually like your faces more. To me the other artist’s work has a manufactured look to it. I love seeing the hand of the artist. Great work!

  7. You have made me a believer that MAYBE I can even accomplish these faces. Remember, I did say MAYBE!!!!! lol

  8. Barb.. just copy mine and yours will come to be your own. Copying is how we start and it develops… but don’t worry or think about it.
    Nell and Maria.. thank you so much.. what a compliment.
    Corrine.. clay.. yes, indeed. Ahh.. maybe another workshop??
    Nancy.. believe.
    Jessica.. you ahhh funny.
    Carolyn, clean your desk off?

    Sometimes I wonder if I should answer here, cuz who comes back to the old post? On well, just in case. Thanks, everyone.

  9. Wow! I’ve never seen anything like this before…amazing! Thank you so much for joining us at Make it Monday this week! Don’t forget to leave a comment for another entry and mention you saw them on MIM for a chance at our second prize! Good luck and I hope to see you back soon!
    Rene ;D

  10. OMG I love this. I saw you on MIM and the design and bright colors pulled me right in. I LOVE THIS. I will have to see Michaels videos as I love this kind of look but always scared to try my hand at it. Your work is wonderful.

  11. I spotted the first artwork piece at MIMI and felt I must comment. This is amazing, so alive and vibrant, magnificent! Jackie C

Let me know what you think about this post.

