Bookmark Tags – A dedication

Standard

Last week,  I met my girlfriends of 33 years.  We’ve met back in 1979, all working for the same company.  We get together about 5 times a year. Sometimes we go away, but mostly we have wonderful dinners together.  We are called the “Bitas”, prouounced “bee-tahs” (long story).

We all have our different personalities and great sense of humor.  We know how to have fun and get a bit rowdy. In the old days we would be up all night.  Now, things have changed quite a bit.  It’s bedtime by 10p.m. for most of us.

We’ve been through our weddings, having babies (and watching them grow to be so proud of them), divorce, surgeries, deaths, wakes and funerals… life, you know what I mean.  Now, two are grandparents… Not me yet.. no way.

We are a simple group of ladies.. we have an understanding.. we don’t judge each other and accept us for the way we are. Our gifts are simple, if any at all.  Our company is our gift.

When we got together this week for our holiday dinner, I decided to make some handmade Bookmark Tags.

I took some large tags and spritzed them with Dylusions of different colors.  I applied white acrylic paint through a stencel over the ink to give it the Faux Batik look I had done in my post here. Added gold acrylic paint around the edges.  Stamped a woman’s face and a word on the bottom.  Added old paper doily pieces.  Used a bottle cover as a circle stamp.  Covered the hole with my handmade polymer clay embellishment. Punched another hole to add my business to dangle.  On the back of the card, I stamped a love poem and a “made by”.

Here are the results: (click photo to enlarge)

IMG_2895 IMG_2897 IMG_2898  IMG_2900

The girls just loved the bookmarks.  It’s something they will use.  As Annie would say “I don’t need anymore s**t”.  Got the message loud and clear.  You’ll use this and it won’t take up any room.  Promise.

Here is a picture of us this week at dinner…and we celebrate Sarah’s Birthday.  Happy Birthday, love.

IMAG0327  IMAG0328

From left to right:  Me, Annie, Michelle and Sarah.

So, I dedicate this post to my wonderful “bita” friends.  Love you all.  My life would not be the same without you.

Judy “Bita” ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

About Judy Shea

Welcome to my blog. I'm a Mixed Media/Polymer Clay Artist. I do have a full-time job (not as an artist). My art includes, textural collage works on canvas, cardboard, wood or other substrates using paints, molding pastes, inks, fabric, a variety of found objects and handmade polymer clay pieces. Life/Work balance is what I strive for.

13 responses »

  1. This is so sweet! Bookmarks don’t take any space at all. So nice to have old friends. You know what they say “no eyes are so kind as those of an old friend”. Beautiful book marks.

  2. These are just adorable. Love the faux marble and your cute polymer buttons, sweet as pie. Looks like a nice group of friends! xox

  3. Wonderful. “A friend is a gift you give yourself”.
    I think Renee’s quote is almost heartbreaking, because through those eyes of an old friend is love and understanding.

  4. Thanks, everyone. These friends are the ones that tell you exactly how they feel. No dancing around answers.
    Diane… dessert was a goner.
    Corrine.. only the beginning for us.

  5. Aww. So special, thank you for the very special artistic bookmark and dedication. And check out my poinsettia pendant. Our Judy made that too, 2002. :-)

  6. Well stated my beautiful bita friend! I’m so happy to have you all in my life and I’m very thankful that you are who you are and over the years you have continued to keep us together. It may take us a while to get together but we always do. I cherish our friendship and the time we spend together. Love you! P.S. and the bookmark…..

  7. Hello my Judy Bita. Thank you for sharing our beautiful story of our long term friendship! Our many dinners and trips we’ve taken hold many wonderful memories for me and I love that we have remained steady for so long. Love my Bitas! The lovely bookmark has been added to the many handmade treasures you created for us. Beautiful art! Love you!! Many happy memories still to be had! Happy Holidays!!

  8. Judy, these are absolutely gorgeous! So glad you had fun with your buddies… I want to play along when we can work it out. I’m totally drawn to your rich colors!

Let me know what you think about this post.

