Snow, Birds, Ruts and Art

Standard

I’m sorry I’ve been gone a little while.  I’ve been buried in work and snow.  This week, I was beginning to feel like an eskimo in an igloo.   We got hit with another snow storm this week.  Ok, the snow is pretty…..for December… but this is enough.  I think it will finally thaw out in June.

Take a look and see what I mean?   And this is the pretty stuff.. the town and cities are loaded with banks and banks of snow.  No place to walk,  no where to park in some cases and the streets are narrow.  Nuff of the complaining now… enjoy some pictures.

Back deck…

From the back deck to back yard… I can hardly see my grill.

Here’s a pretty one that hubbie took…before the storm…

All all my feathered friends did not mind the snow storm at all… I caught some really good pictures of them…

some played see saw…. (Titmouse and Woodpecker)

some played peek-a-boo… (Juncos)

some were anti-social….

Then some come together to socialize… they love that tree.. that’s where they all gather and chat…

I’ve been invited to an art day with some friends tomorrow.  I really need this.. I’ve been in an art rut… Know what I mean???  Work, family, life is just taking priority lately and I need to get a grip of it and get in the studio.  Not that I’m going to make my family last priority, but a little “me” time is due.  I don’t think anyone will come to me and say “honey, mom, we till take care of everything today, you just go relax and do what you want”.

As for my art rut, this is a discussion that I’ve had with some of my artist friends lately about kinda going “dormant” for a while, brain takes a vacation, chilling out.   Eventually it will come back.  It will, won’t it?

Have you ever had that happen… Blank stares at the canvas, at the art table and at the page?

I have signed up for some fun “me” workshops. I AM going to put time aside for myself.   There, Ive said it and “it’s in the books” (as “Uncle Buck” says).

In the meantime, I’m still fiddling (as in very little) in my little sketchbook for the “Sketchbook Challenge”.  Here’s a few pages to share.. size 5″ x 3 1/2″…done with fine black marker and watercolor paints.

The theme for January is still “Highly Prized”.. and I consider MY TIME.. the time I create, to be highly prized.

More art soon… pray for no more snow and  thanks for stopping by.

Judy

5 responses »

  1. Beautiful snow pix…I’m ready for it to be gone, too. As is my hubby. After all, he’s in charge of removal. :(
    Love your sketches. Those skinny houses are adorable! I’ve been working in my journal every day. Don’t necessarily complete a whole page a day (although that’s my goal)…but I do SOMETHING…paint…pull out images or collage papers, etc. I’m using a BIG journal so it’s a challenge to fill such a large space. At least I get to play around with some larger (here it comes, Judy…) FOCAL images. *rolling with giggles*
    Stay warm, everyone!

  2. GOR-geous photos, Judy.

    And your ‘sketch book’ sketches are adorable. I know how you and your art-friends can receive an infusion of creativity and enthusiasm………..: Zentangle! I love to do ‘home classes’……!

Let me know what you think about this post.

