A New Year.. Promise To Make it Creative!

Standard

Hey Blogsters…..

Happy New Year.  How long do we have to say that to everyone we talk to?  I think 2 weeks is time enough, don’t you think?.. and then that’s it.. alright, well, maybe just a few more here and there.

So, I hate the word “resolution”.  It’s sounds so demanding. YOU WILL RESOLVE TO GET THIS DONE.  How about just making promises to yourself?  Do things that you know would make you feel better and make you feel that you really have accomplished something.  Something that you know wouldn’t have happened it you just didn’t nudge yourself a little bit harder (or as they say in Boston.. “hahda”).

Course, my first thought is be more healthy and fit.  Ok, I said that one, so let’s move on to fun promises….  be more creative and do more art.  Ah, that feels like a promise I can keep for myself.  Reorganize and clean your studio/workspace  (ok, so maybe not so fun); donate what you don’t need anymore; give them a new life – you’ll feel the new energy surround you after you’re done.

One of my promises to myself is to learn how to video tape and load those videos on to YouTube or even in my blog.   With the help of my 15 hr. old daughter, of course.  It can happen.. it WILL happen.

Being creative just makes me happy.  When I’m working in my full-time job, I want to be in my studio.  When I’m not working, I don’ t get in the studio like I want to.  Why is that?  I own it, I know, my fault.   Ok.. I have a family to think about, yes.    Another promise – get in the studio; make more time and get in your creative bubble.

I’m keeping Melodie Beattie’s book next to my computer and I’d like to share another excerpt from her “Journey to the Heart” book.

“Let Your Creativity Blossom”

“Allow your creativity to blossom.  For too long you have held back.  For too long you have limited your natural creative learnings and talents….. You are creative.  You have a creative self within that wants to play, wants to be let loose, wants to create.  Set that part free!  Let yourself play – with life, with work, with projects. “

“Creating brings you into harmony with the universe…. yourself and the rhythm of life.”  – Melody Beattie

How perfect is that?  Very calming and freeing, to me, when I read her meditations.

Tell me what you want to promise yourself this year?

I’ll leave you with this beautiful winter early morning scene from the back of my house (not enhanced at all).  Love the teal sky.

Thanks for stopping by!

Judy

Next up… mixed media mirror frame.

3 responses »

  1. Beautiful photo, Judy! The beginning of a new day, the beginning of a new year. For me, a brand new home. What do I want to promise myself this year? More Art Days!

Let me know what you think about this post.

